Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

About the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award
A bi-annual award recognizing and honoring a librarian who invests time and talent to make positive changes in the profession of librarianship by:
  • taking risks to further the cause;
  • helping new librarians grow and achieve;
  • working for change within the American Library Association or other library organization;
  • inspiring colleagues to excel or make the impossible possible.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

Award and Frequency

$1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement.

This award is given out on a biennial basis.

Application Instructions

Please complete the online application, including all supporting documentation as attachments.

Contact Information

Cheryl Malden (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2005, to June 30, 2030) - cmalden@ala.org
Work Phone: (312) 280-3247
Fax: 312 944-3897
American Library Association
225 N Michigan Ave Ste 1300
Chicago, IL 60601-7616

Displaying active committee roster as of 11/28/2023. Last retrieved on 11/28/2023. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.

Selection Criteria

  • Is an active member of a professional library organization as demonstrated by committee membership or leadership positions
  • Actively participates in a library mentoring program either through their workplace or a professional organization
  • Through action or role modeling inspired colleagues to excel and overcome obstacles that may have seemed insurmountable