W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction

About the W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in Military Fiction
This award honors the best fiction set in a period when the United States was at war. It recognizes the service of American veterans and military personnel and encourages the writing and publishing of outstanding war-related fiction. Donated by William Young Boyd II.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo
The Last PaladinThe Last Paladin2023 - Winner
The Eagles Claw2022 - Winner
A Quiet CadenceA Quiet Cadence2021 - Winner
Darkness at ChancellorsvilleRalph Peters wins 2020 W.Y. Boyd Literary Award for excellence in military fiction2020 - Winner
McPadden, RayAnd The Whole Mountain Burned2019 - Winner
Shaara, JeffFrozen Hours2018 - Winner
Graham, J.M.Arizona Moon2017 - Winner
Peters, RalphValley of the Shadow2016 - Winner
Klay, PhilRedeployment2015 - Winner
Peters, RalphHell or Richmond2014 - Winner
Peters, RalphCain at Gettysburg2013 - Winner
Deutermann, P.T.Pacific Glory2012 - Winner
Marlantes, KarlMatterhorn 2011 - Winner
Hough, Jr., JohnSeen the Glory2010 - Winner
Bausch, RichardPeace2009 - Winner
Macomber, Robert N.A Different Kind of Honor2008 - Winner
Mrazek, Robert J.The Deadly Embrace 2007 - Winner
Arvin, NickArticles of War 2006 - Winner
Shaara, JeffTo The Last Man: A Novel of The First World War 2005 - Winner
Nelson, James L.Glory In The Name: A Novel of the Confederate Navy 2004 - Winner
Brady, JamesWarning of War2003 - Winner
West, OwenSharkman Six2002 - Winner
Simmons, Brigadier General Edwin HowardDog Company Six2001 - Winner
Mort, JohnSoldier in Paradise2000 - Winner
McCaig, DonaldJacob’s Ladder: A Story of Virginia During the War1999 - Winner
Bahr, HowardThe Black Flower: A Novel of the Civil War1998 - Winner
Shaara, JeffGods and Generals 1997 - Winner