Shirley Olofson Memorial Award

About the Shirley Olofson Memorial Award
The $1,000 award is given annually to a NMRT member to help defray the cost of attending the ALA Annual Conference. The ward is named in honor of Shirley Olofson, a well-respected NMRT President (1971-1972), who died during her term of office.

Administered by:

New Member Round Table (NMRT) logo

Award and Frequency

An annual award of $1,000.
This award is given out on an annual basis.


Applicants must be members of ALA and NMRT; active within the library profession; show promise or activity in the area of professional development; have valid financial need; and have attended no more than five ALA annual conferences.

Application Instructions

Fill out the application form online. Include a current resume that lists educational background and degrees, library positions you've held, activity in ALA, NMRT, or other ALA groups, activity in other library associations, and participation in scholarly activity. Write a short essay or paragraph that explains the reasons you are applying for this award. Address your financial need. Specify what expenses are funded by your employer or other resources, e.g. registration, travel, lodging, and meals, etc. and what expenses you pay on your own.

If you do not receive an email acknowledgment within two business days after submitting this application form, please send an email to Michelle K. Mitchell. Applicants will be notified of incomplete applications. 

Contact Information

Kimberly L. Redd (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2026) -
Work Phone: (312) 280-4279
Fax: (312) 280-3256
American Library Association
225 N Michigan Ave Ste 1300
Chicago, IL 60601-7616

Displaying active committee roster as of 09/28/2023. Last retrieved on 09/28/2023. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.


The winner will be chosen in January before the ALA Midwinter Meeting. All applicants will be notified in March.