Joseph W. Lippincott Award

About the Joseph W. Lippincott Award
An annual award consisting of $1,500 and a 24k gold-framed citation presented annually to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship, such service to include outstanding participation in the activities of the professional library association, notable published professional writing, or other significant activity on behalf of the profession and its aims.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2021 Winner(s)

Newlen Robert

executive director of the Dwight D. Opperman Foundation. retired deputy librarian of Congress

Among the achievements specifically noted by the Lippincott Jury and many colleagues who wrote in support of this award are his enduring, varied, and effective service to the ALA, and thus to the entire American library profession. He has been tireless as a role model and mentor for countless colleagues, particularly new professionals. His commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion within both our association and our profession at large, and his long-term leadership and commitment to keeping the ALA financially healthy through service as an ALA Endowment Trustee and member of the Philanthropy Advisory Group, resulted in inestimable and significant contributions.