Michael L. Printz Award

About the Michael L. Printz Award
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Who Was Mike Printz?

When the Newbery Award began , people probably asked, "Who is John Newbery?" After 75 years of Newbery Awards, "everyone knows the name." So that everyone will recognize the name of this new award as quickly as possible, some background information may prove helpful. "Mike," as he was known to his friends and colleagues, was a school librarian at Topeka West (KS) High School for many years and retired from teaching in 1994. Until his untimely death in 1996, he worked as a marketing consultant for Econo-Clad Books.

Mike was active in YALSA and served on the Best Books for Young Adults Committee and the Margaret A. Edwards Award Committee. He had a passion for books and reading. Finding the right book for the right student at the right time was not just a slogan to Mike-he lived it. He also appreciated the authors who wrote books for young adults and demonstrated this by initiating an author-in-residence program at his high school. One of those authors was Chris Crutcher, who became a close friend. Chris recalls the quiet times he spent with Mike talking with him about his vision of young adult literature and its place in kid's lives and says, "The ache I feel [upon hearing of Mike's death] is my wish that he could have accepted for himself what he so readily gave to us, readers and writers alike; a place to stand in the circle of the joy and heartache that is storytelling."

YALSA has created a place, a circle if you will, for Mike to stand and be recognized- that place is the Michael L.Printz Award.

YALSA published A Printz of a Man, a volume of articles written by Mike's friends and colleagues in 1997. Copies were given to the participants at the YALSA preconference, Popular Reading, which was dedicated to Mike, in San Francisco. It is now available on this web site for the reader's information and enjoyment.

Administered by:

Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) logo
2020 honor books2020 - Honor
2020 honor books2020 - Honor
2020 honor books2020 - Honor
2020 honor books2020 - Honor
2020 winner2020 - Winner
I, ClaudiaI, Claudia2019 - Honor
A Heart in a Body in the WorldA Heart in a Body in the World2019 - Honor
DamselDamsel2019 - Honor
The Poet XThe Poet X2019 - Winner
Thomas, AngieThe Hate U Give2018 - Honor
LaCour, NinaWe are okay2018 - Winner
Reynolds, JasonLong Way Down2018 - Honor
Taylor, LainiStrange the Dreamer2018 - Honor
Heiligman, DeborahVincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers2018 - Honor
The Sun Is Also a StarThe Sun Is Also a Star2017 - Honor
ScytheScythe2017 - Honor
The Passion of DolssaThe Passion of Dolssa2017 - Honor
Asking for ItAsking for It2017 - Honor
March: Book ThreeMarch: Book Three2017 - Winner
Out of DarknessAshley Hope PĂ©rez2016 - Finalist
The Ghosts of HeavenMarcus Sedgwick2016 - Honor
Bone GapBone Gap2016 - Winner
Eleanor & Park 2014 - Honor
20142014 - Winner
Navigating Early2014 - Honor
Kingdom of Little Wounds2014 - Honor
MAGGOT MOON2014 - Honor
The White BicycleThe White Bicycle2013 - Honor
DodgerDodger2013 - Honor
Code Name VerityCode Name Verity2013 - Honor
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe2013 - Honor
In DarknessIn Darkness2013 - Winner
Whaley, John CoreyWhere Things Come Back2012 - Winner
Kalman, MairaWhy We Broke Up2012 - Honor
Handler, DanielWhy We Broke Up2012 - Honor
Hinwood, ChristineThe Returning2012 - Honor
Silvey, CraigJasper Jones2012 - Honor
Stiefvater, MaggieThe Scorpio Races2012 - Honor
Teller, JanneNothing2011 - Honor
Sedgwick, MarcusRevolver2011 - Honor
King, A.S.Please Ignore Vera Dietz2011 - Honor
Christopher, LucyStolen2011 - Honor
Bacigalupi, PaoloShip Breaker2011 - Winner
Heiligman, DeborahCharles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith2010 - Honor
Barnes, JohnTales from the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 19732010 - Honor
Rapp, AdamPunkzilla2010 - Honor
Yancey, RickThe Monstrumologist2010 - Honor
Bray, LibbaGoing Bovine2010 - Winner
Anderson, M.T.The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves2009 - Honor
Lanagan, MargoTender Morsels2009 - Honor
Lockhart, E.The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks2009 - Honor
Pratchett, TerryNation2009 - Honor
Marchetta, MelinaJellicoe Road2009 - Winner
Jenkins, A.M.Repossessed2008 - Honor
Hemphill, StephanieYour Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath2008 - Honor
Clarke, JudithOne Whole and Perfect Day2008 - Honor
Knox, ElizabethDreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet 2008 - Honor
McCaughrean, GeraldineThe White Darkness2008 - Winner
Anderson, M. T.The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox Party2007 - Honor
Yang, Gene LuenAmerican Born Chinese2007 - Winner
Green, JohnAn Abundance of Katherines2007 - Honor
Hartnett, SonyaSurrender2007 - Honor
Zusak, MarkusThe Book Thief2007 - Honor
Lanagan, MargoBlack Juice2006 - Honor
Zusak, MarkusI Am the Messenger2006 - Honor
Partridge, ElizabethJohn Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth, a Biography2006 - Honor
Nelson, MarilynA Wreath for Emmett Till2006 - Honor
Green, JohnLooking for Alaska2006 - Winner
Stratton, AllanChanda's Secrets2005 - Honor
Oppel, KennethAirborn2005 - Honor
Schmidt, Gary D.Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy2005 - Honor
Rosoff, Meghow i live now2005 - Winner
Johnson, AngelaThe First Part Last2004 - Winner
Mackler, CarolynThe Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things2004 - Honor
A Northern LightA Northern Light2004 - Honor
Keesha's HouseKeesha's House2004 - Honor
Going, K.L.Fat Kid Rules the World2004 - Honor
Chambers, AidanPostcards from No Man's Land2003 - Winner
Farmer, NancyThe House of the Scorpion2003 - Honor
Freymann-Weyr, GarretMy Heartbeat2003 - Honor
Gantos, JackHole in My Life2003 - Honor
Lynch, ChrisFreewill2002 - Honor
Wolff, Virginia EuwerTrue Believer2002 - Honor
Na, AnA Step from Heaven2002 - Winner
Dickinson, PeterThe Ropemaker2002 - Honor
Greenberg, JanHeart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century American Art2002 - Honor
Plum-Ucci, CarolThe Body of Christopher Creed2001 - Honor
Coman, CarolynMany Stones2001 - Honor
Almond, DavidKit's Wilderness2001 - Winner
Rennison, LouiseAngus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging2001 - Honor
Trueman, TerryStuck in Neutral2001 - Honor
Myers, ChristopherMonster2000 - Winner
Myters, Walter DeanMonster2000 - Winner
Almond, DavidSkellig2000 - Honor
Anderson, Laurie HalseSpeak2000 - Honor
Wittlinger, EllenHard Love2000 - Honor