Justin Winsor Library History Essay Award

About the Justin Winsor Library History Essay Award
The Justin Winsor Library History Essay Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association annually to recognize the best essay written in English on library history.  The award is named in honor of the distinguished nineteenth-century librarian, historian, and bibliographer who was also ALA's first president. It consists of a certificate and a $500 cash award, as well as an invitation to have the winner's essay considered for publication in Libraries: Culture, History, and Society. If the winning essay is accepted for publication, additional revisions may be required. 

Administered by:

Library History Round Table (LHRT) logo
Sharon McQueenSharon McQueen2015 - Winner
Kate StewartKate Stewart2014 - Winner
Nicola WilsonNicola Wilson2013 - Winner
Asley MaynorAshley Maynor 2012 - Winner
Cody White2011 - Winner
Bleisch, Pamela R.Spoilsmen and Daughters of the Republic: Political Interference in the Texas State Library during the tenure of Elizabeth Howard West, 1911-19252010 - Winner
LeComte, RichardWriters Blocked: The Debate Over Public Lending Right in the United States During the 1980s2009 - Winner
Dibbell, JeremyA Library of the Most Celebrated & Approved Authors: The First Purchase Collection of Union College2008 - Winner
Preer, Jean L.Promoting Citizenship: Librarians Help Get Out the Vote in the 1952 Presidential Election2007 - Winner
No awards given2006 - No Awards Given
Boyd, Donald C.The Book Women of Kentucky: The WPA Pack Horse Library Project, 1935-19432005 - Winner
Latham, Joyce M.Clergy of the Mind: William S. Learned, the Carnegie Corporation, and the ALA2004 - Winner