James Madison Award

The award named for President James Madison was established in 1989 and is presented annually on the anniversary of his birth to honor individuals or groups who have championed, protected and promoted public access to government information and the public’s right to know at the national level.

View a list of previous recipients here.

James Madison Award logo


Year Began: 1986

Administered by:



Frequency: Annual

Next Deadline

Professional Recognition Information