Children's Literature Legacy Award

The Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.

Legacy Award Seal


Year Began: 2018

1954- 2018 the award was named the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal.

Administered by:


Frequency: Annual

A citation is awarded annually.

Next Deadline

Award Information