Book, Print, and Media Awards

Honoring books, print, and other forms of media, recognizing publications as well as authors, illustrators, and publishers who create them.
Group of people holding books in front of backdrop that says YMA

Book, Print and Media Awards

ALA and its member units honor books, print, and other forms of media through a variety of awards. These awards recognize the publications, as well as the authors, illustrators, and publishers who create them.

Winners of the 1963 Newbery and Caldecott awards

Historic Book, Print & Media Awards

ALA has a long history of recognizing exemplary media works, including books, published research, and other media. Although these Historic Awards are no longer offered, they have helped establish ALA as a leader in emphasizing the crucial role books and media play in the advancement of lifelong literacy.

2024 Youth Media Awards

The annual announcement of the American Library Association (ALA) Youth Media Awards is the biggest event of the year in the world of children's publishing - 22 separate awards for books and media this year - all chosen by librarians. And who knows children's literature better than librarians? The Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, Coretta Scott King, and other ALA Youth Media Awards are some of the most prestigious awards an author or illustrator can aspire to.

The 2024 Youth Media Awards were announced on January 22, 2024 during ALA’s LibLearnX conference in Baltimore.

See full list of 2024 YMA winners

Book, Print and Media Award Types

ALA Articles, Papers & Research Awards recognize outstanding research-based works focusing on or in service of librarianship, including library history, contemporary issues faced by library professionals, and advancements in the field.

Browse awards

ALA media awards recognize the best of the best in recordings, digital media, and non-print publications for a variety of ages.

Browse awards

ALA Reference, Technical and Adult awards celebrate fiction and non-fiction works written for adult audiences, as well as works of reference and instruction focusing on the field of librarianship.

Browse awards

The ALA Youth Media Awards honor and encourage original and creative work in literature and media for young people. The YMAs include the oldest and most prestigious awards for books for young readers, including the Newbery and Caldecott Medals and the Printz and Coretta Scott King Book Awards.

Browse awards

ALA American Library Association Award Seals; text overlays a background composed to overlapping award seals.

ALA Award Seals

Purchase seals representing ALA's youth media awards, Booklist Editors' Choice and Top of the List, and ALA Notable Books. Electronic images of the seals are also available.

Frequently asked questions