Press Releases & Member News

Click on the headlines below to access the full news releases.

Sign up for ALSC newsletters and alerts

Jan 25, 2021

CHICAGO – Raúl González, ilustrador de “¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat”;  Ernesto Cisneros, autor de “Efrén Divided” y Yamile Saied Méndez, autora de “Furia,” fueron seleccionados como los ganadores de la edición 2021 del Premio Pura Belpré de Ilustración; al Autor de Libros Infantiles; y al Autor de Libros para Jóvenes Adultos; que rinden homenaje a los escritores e ilustradores hispanos cuyas obras constituyan el mejor reflejo, afirmación y celebración de la experiencia cultural hispana en la literatura infantil.

Jan 25, 2021

CHICAGO – Raúl Gonzalez, illustrator of “¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat,” Ernesto Cisneros, author of “Efrén Divided,” and Yamile Saied Méndez, author of “Furia,” are the 2021 recipients of the Pura Belpré Illustrator Award, Children’s Author Award and Young Adult Author Award, honoring Latinx authors and illustrators whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in children’s books.

Jan 25, 2021

CHICAGO – Scholastic Audio, producer of the audiobook “Kent State,” has won the 2021 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production. The award announcement was made today during the American Library Association’s ALA Midwinter Virtual, held Jan. 22–26.

Jan 25, 2021

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, digital media, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits taking place virtually from Chicago.

A list of all the 2021 award winners follows:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature: 

Jan 19, 2021

Parents, publishers await announcements of the best of the best in materials, media for youth

CHICAGO — Parents, children’s and young adult authors, illustrators, and publishing groups are waiting in anticipation for the 2021 American Library Association (ALA) Youth Media Award (YMA) announcements.

Nov 17, 2020

CHICAGO - On Monday, Jan. 25, 2021, at 8 a.m. CT, the American Library Association (ALA) will reveal the next classics in children’s and young adult literature and media during its Youth Media Awards announcements.

Oct 21, 2020

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, has selected five fellows for the ALSC Equity Fellowship  ALSC welcomes Equity Fellows, Eboni Dickerson, Erika Lehtonen, Natassia Schulz, Melissa Stovall, and Mai Takahashi. ALSC thanks members of Storytime Underground for their generous donation in support of the ALSC Equity Fellowship and ALSC’s equity, diversity and inclusion efforts.

Sep 17, 2020

CHICAGO — On Tuesday, September 22 at 5 p.m. CT | 3 p.m. PT, Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) President Kirby McCurtis and Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA) Vice-President Nichelle M. Hayes will join other prominent African American leaders in a panel discussion on race, identity, and social justice in children's literature.

Sep 10, 2020

CHICAGO – Today Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) President Kirby McCurtis, appeared as a guest on "Pandemic: What You Need to Know," a new ABC Network program temporarily replacing the third hour of Good Morning America.

Sep 1, 2020

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) partnered with Netflix in support of Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices, a collection of 12 episodes featuring prominent Black celebrities and artists reading children's books from Black authors. Visit: to view the episodes and to access links to additional resources. The videos are also available for free without subscription on the Netflix Jr.