2021 Children's Literature Lecture

Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop to Deliver the 2021 Children's Literature Lecture

Literary scholar Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop will deliver the 2021 ALSC Children’s Literature Lecture in the spring of next year. 

“Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop’s scholarship has changed the language and the lenses with which we examine children’s literature,” stated 2021 ALSC Children’s Literature Lecture Award Selection Committee Chair Jennifer M. Duffy. 

Dr. Sims Bishop, Professor Emerita at The Ohio State University, has served on numerous noteworthy committees for ALA and other organizations, and has been recognized with prestigious awards for her work. Her research, writing, and teaching have informed and expanded conversations about representation of African Americans in children's literature and provided a critical framework for research and pedagogy. Her essay, "Mirrors, Windows, and Sliding Glass Doors," is not only cited globally, it has inspired shifts in publishing, teaching, and the inclusion of authentic, diverse voices in literature for children and teens.  

A library school, department of education in a college or university, or a public library system may be considered to host the lecture. Applications to host the 2021 lecture will be available online from ALSC at www.ala.org/alsc at a later date, to be determined. 

Members of the 2021 ALSC Children’s Literature Lecture Award Selection Committee are: Chair Jennifer M. Duffy, King County Library System, Kirkland, Wash.; Christine A. Jenkins, University of Illinois, ISchool, Champaign, Illinois; Nancy J. Johnson, Western Washington University, Bellingham, Wash.; Ana-Elba Pavon, Oakland (Calif.) Public Library, Elmhurst Branch; Karen M. Rowell, Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival, The University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, Miss.