Children's Literature Legacy Award Recipients

Beginning with the 2018 Award, the name changed from the Wilder Medal to the Children’s Literature Legacy Award. Originally, the Award was given every three years. As of 2003, the award was given every two years. The award became annual as of 2016. 

List with downloads of Newbery, Caldecott and Legacy Award Winning Speeches

Awarded as Children’s Literature Legacy Award

2023: James E. Ransome

2022: Grace Lin

2021: Mildred D. Taylor

2020: Kevin Henkes

2019: Walter Dean Myers

2018: Jacqueline Woodson

Awarded as Wilder Medal

2017: Nikki Grimes

2016: Jerry Pinkney

2015: Donald Crews

2013: Katherine Paterson

2011: Tomie dePaola

2009: Ashley Bryan

2007: James Marshall

2005: Laurence Yep

2003: Eric Carle

2001: Milton Meltzer

1998: Russell Freedman

1995: Virginia Hamilton

1992: Marcia Brown

1989: Elizabeth George Speare

1986: Jean Fritz

1983: Maurice Sendak

1980: Theodor S. Geisel (Dr. Seuss)

1975: Beverly Cleary

1970: E. B. White

1965: Ruth Sawyer

1960: Clara Ingram Judson

1954: Laura Ingalls Wilder