(Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award Selection Committee - 2025


To select from the books published the preceding year within the terms, definitions and criteria governing the awards, the most distinguished American book for beginning readers.


Julie Ann Corsaro
(Chair, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Dr. Megan R. Brown
(Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Dr. Maria Cahill
(Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Kary Henry
(Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Karin Michel
(Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Mr. Ben R. Perry
(Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Dr. Tess Prendergast
(Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2022. Last retrieved on 06/23/2024. Refresh now.


The Geisel Award Selection Committee consists of seven members appointed from the ALSC membership at large, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair. (Chair + 6)


Established in 2004 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

The 2025 committee is reviewing books published in 2024 for the 2025 awards.

The 2025 awards will be announced in January 2025.

Staff Liaison

ALSC Awards Coordinator


Get Involved

Vital professional associations are the result of engaged and committed member leaders! If you are interested in serving ALSC on a committee, please read and complete the online volunteer form.

  • Process committees (non-award committees) are appointed in early spring (Jan-May)
  • Award and evaluation committees are appointed in early fall (July-Oct)
  • Replacement positions pop up and are filled throughout the year (ongoing)

The Vice-President/President-Elect begins making his/her process committee appointments in February/March. In August/September, after being seated as President, he/she will then begin filling fall appointments.

Learn More about ALSC Committees and Volunteering

Volunteering and the Appointments Process

“What Does That Committee Do”