(Mildred L.) Batchelder Award Selection Committee - 2024


To select from the books published the preceding year the most outstanding book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States and subsequently published in English in the United States.


Natalie R. Ziarnik (Chair, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Ms. Kit Ballenger (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Lisa Boyd (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Emily M. Carlson (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Katrin Stimmer (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Ana Cackley (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2029)

Displaying active committee roster as of 02/21/2024. Last retrieved on 02/21/2024. Members can log in and refresh page to view full contact information for committee members.


Publishers, please e-mail alscawards@ala.org for address information.


The Batchelder Award Selection Committee consists of four members appointed from the ALSC membership at large, serving 2-year terms and led by the committee chair. (Chair + 4)

The 2024 Committee reviews books published in 2023 for the 2024 awards.

The 2024 award winners will be announced in early 2024.


Established in 1966 at the request of the ALSC Board of Directors.

Get Involved

Vital professional associations are the result of engaged and committed member leaders! If you are interested in serving ALSC on a committee, please read and complete the online volunteer form

  • Process committees (non-award committees) are appointed in early spring (Jan-May)
  • Award and evaluation committees are appointed in early fall (July-Oct)
  • Replacement positions pop up and are filled throughout the year (ongoing)

The Vice-President/President-Elect begins making his/her process committee appointments in February/March. In August/September, after being seated as President, he/she will then begin filling fall appointments.

Learn More about ALSC Committees and Volunteering

Volunteering and the Appointments Process
“What Does That Committee Do” 

Staff Liaison

ALSC Awards Coordinator