2011 Caldecott Medal and Honor Books

2011 Medal Winner

book cover image: a sick day for amos mcgee
The 2011 Caldecott Medal winner is  A Sick Day for Amos McGee , illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead. A Neal Porter Book, published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing. 

In this tender tale of reciprocity and friendship, zookeeper Amos McGee gets the sniffles and receives a surprise visit from his caring animal friends. Erin Stead’s delicate woodblock prints and fine pencil work complement Philip Stead’s understated, spare and humorous text to create a well-paced, gentle and satisfying book, perfect for sharing with friends.

“Endearing, expressive characterization in spare illustrations rendered in muted tones distinguish this timeless picture book.  It’s a great day for Amos McGee!” said Caldecott Medal Committee Chair Judy Zuckerman. 

Audio Speech Cover: 2011 Newberry, Caldecott and Wilder Acceptance Speeches


Listen to Erin Stead's Caldecott Medal Acceptance Speech [Link downloads MP3 audio file/18MB]

Read Erin Stead's Caldecott Medal Acceptance Speech



2011 Honor Books

book cover image: dave the potter; artist, poet, slave
Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave
, illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill, published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Collier’s arrestingly beautiful artistic interpretation of Hill’s poetic text reveals Dave the potter’s artistic process while also conveying the dignified triumph of his humanity in the face of oppression. Lush, earth-toned, multimedia collages are illuminated in soft, ethereal light that focuses the eye on the subject of each spread.

book cover image: interrupting chicken
Interrupting Chicken,
written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein, published by Candlewick Press.


Stein’s hilarious story presents Little Chicken and her long-suffering Papa, who just wants to get through a bedtime story without his daughter’s metafictive disruptions. Exuberant artwork shifts media and style, taking readers into three fairy tales, culminating in Little Chicken’s “Bedtime for Papa,” but truly delivering a story for all. 








Members of the 2011 Caldecott Medal Selection Committee are: Chair Judy E. Zuckerman,Brooklyn (N.Y.) Public Library; Carolyn R. Angus, George Stone Center for Children’s Books, Claremont (Calif.) Graduate University; Ruth Anne Champion, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore;  Kevin Delecki, Dayton (Ohio) Metro Library;  Heidi K. Hammond, St. Catherine University Library, St. Paul, Minn.; Shelley Haley Huntington, New York; Karen Kessel, Tobias Elementary School, Kyle, Texas;  Megan D. Lambert, Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art, Amherst, Mass.; Portia Latalladi, Chicago Public Library; Morgan McMillian, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, Texas; Debra Nelson, Prince George's County Memorial Library, Largo, Md.;  Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, Rio Rancho (N.M.) Public Library; Gail Nordstrom, Viking Library System, Fergus Falls, Minn.; Elsworth Rockefeller, Martin Luther King Library, Washington, D.C.;  and Robin Smith, Ensworth School, Nashville, Tenn.

The Newbery and Caldecott Medals and Honor Book seals are property of the American Library Association and cannot be used in any form or reproduced without permission of the ALA Office of Rights and Permissions.

To ALSC Literary & Related Awards Main Page