Esther J. Piercy Award

The Esther J. Piercy Award will not be presented in 2021. Please visit the Core Awards & Scholarships page for information on the Core awards that will be presented for 2020-2021.


The Esther J. Piercy Award was established by the Resources and Technical Services Division of the American Library Association in 1968 in memory of Esther J. Piercy, editor of Journal of Cataloging and Classification from 1950 to 1956 and of Library Resources & Technical Services from 1957 to 1967. This award is given to recognize the contribution to those areas of librarianship included in library collections and technical services by a librarian with not more than 10 years of professional experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contribution and leadership.


Evidence of this promise is determined by the person's accomplishments, as they are related to technical services and resources, in such activities as:

  • Leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level;
  • Contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines;
  • Significant contribution to professional literature; and
  • Conduct of studies or research in the technical services.


Nominations shall include:

  • name of nominee;
  • date nominee entered first professional position; and
  • a formal statement of nomination, with a brief rationale for the nomination;
  • a resume or narrative career outline upon which the award jury can base its determinations;
  • letters of endorsement from others should provide additional evidence of the worthiness of the nominee. The number of letters of endorsement received for a nominee shall not be a determining factor in the selection process; rather, the evidence of the person's accomplishments that they present shall be the factor considered.

Nominations for persons not selected for the award in one year may be resubmitted provided the person still meets the ten-year limit on length of professional experience. Eligibility is not limited by country, citizenship, or membership in a specific organization.


The award consists of a citation and a $1,500 grant donated by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO.


The award is formally presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the ALA Annual Conference.

Award Jury

The Esther J. Piercy Award will not be presented in 2021. Please visit the Core Awards & Scholarships page for information on the Core awards that will be presented for 2020-2021.

Award Recipients

Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient
2020 Maggie Dull 2002 Lisa German 1985 Stephen Wiberley
2019 Casey Mullin 2001 Oya Yildrim Rieger 1984 Lizbeth J. Bishoff
2018 Alison M. Armstrong 2000 Brian J. Baird 1983 Sue A. Dodd
2017 Sarah Potvin 1999 Stephen Chapman
Nancy R. John
2016 Annie Peterson 1998 Judith R. Ahronheim 1981
Sally H. McCallum  
2015 Myung-Ja (MJ) Han 1997 Birdie MacLennan
Nancy B. Olson
2014 Patrick Carr
No Recipient 1979 Pamela Wood Darling
2013 Xan Arch 1995 October Reyn Ivins 1978 S. Michael Malinconico
2012 Timothy Strawn 1994 Nancy E. Elkington 1977 No Recipient
2011 Marielle Veve
Barbara A. Winters 1976 Ruth L. Tighe
2010 Kelley McGrath 1992 No Recipient 1975 John D. Byrum, Jr.
2009 Laurel Tarulli 1991 Carol Pitts Hawks 1974 No Recipient
2008 Daisy Waters 1990 Jan Merrill-Oldham 1973 Glen A. Zimmerman
2007 Robert L. Bothmann 1989 Lisa B. Weber 1972 Carol A. Nemeyer
2006 Jill Emery 1988 Karen Markey 1971 John Philip Immroth
2005 Terry Paul Reese 1987 John K. Duke 1970 John B. Corbin
2004 No Recipient 1986 No Recipient 1969 Richard M. Dougherty
2003 Karen Brown