Professional Recognition Awards

Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognizes the contribution of a library leader through demonstrated exceptional service to ALCTS and its areas of interest (acquisitions, cataloging and classification, collection management and development, preservation and reformatting, and serials). Established 2007. | Learn more

Hugh C. Atkinson Award

Cash award and a plaque that recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of an academic librarian who has worked in the areas of library automation or library management and has made contributions (including risk taking) toward the improvement of library services or to library development or research. Jointly sponsored by ACRL, ALCTS, LLAMA, and LITA. | Learn more

Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award

A $1,500 grant donated by Preservation Technologies, L.P., and a citation given to a professional preservation specialist who has been active in the field of preservation and/or conservation for library and/or archival materials. | Learn more

ProQuest Coutts Award for Innovation in Electronic Resources Management

Award of $2,000 recognizes innovation in electronic resources management. Established in 2008. | Learn more

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award

The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. | Learn more

The Harrassowitz Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions

This award of $1,500, donated by Harrassowitz Company, recognizes the contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual to the field of acquisitions librarianship. | Learn more

Margaret Mann Citation

Awarded for outstanding professional achievement in cataloging or classification through publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional cataloging associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries. | Learn more

Outstanding Collaboration Citation

Award recognizes and encourages collaborative problem-solving efforts in the areas of acquisition, access, management, preservation, or archiving of library materials. | Learn more

Esther J. Piercy Award

Recognizes contributions to library collections and technical services by a librarian with fewer than ten years of professional experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contribution and leadership. | Learn more

Presidential Citations

Very special awards, designated by the ALCTS president, honor ALCTS members who make significant contributions to the association and to the profession but whose accomplishments do not fall within the criteria for ALCTS’ other awards. | Learn more

Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award

The award, a citation and $1,500 donated by Ulrich, is given for distinguished contributions to serials librarianship, including leadership in serials-related activities through participation in professional associations and/or library education programs; contributions to the body of serials literature; research in the area of serials; developing tools or methods to enhance access to or management of serials; and other advances leading to a better understanding of the field of serials. | Learn more

ALCTS Honors

Established in 2014, the citation is given for outstanding contributions at all levels within ALCTS. Given by the ALCTS Board of Directors. | Learn more