Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award

The Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award will not be presented in 2021. Please visit the Core Awards & Scholarships page for information on the Core awards that will be presented for 2020-2021.


The Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award is given to the author(s) of the best paper published each year in the official journal of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, Library Resources & Technical Services.


Each of the papers published in the volume year is eligible for consideration with the exception of official reports and documents, obituaries, letters to the editor, and biographies of award winners.

Each paper shall be judged on the following points:

  • Content with a significant contribution about one or more issues addressed by ALCTS and its sections.
  • Statements in the paper are adequately supported by accurate data and documentation.
  • Clear and readable writing style.


The award consists of a $250 cash prize and a citation.


The award is formally presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony at the ALA Annual Conference each year.

Award Jury

The Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award will not be presented in 2021. Please visit the Core Awards & Scholarships page for information on the Core awards that will be presented for 2020-2021.

Award Recipients

Award Recipients
Year Recipient
2020 Maria Savova and Jason S. Price, Ph.D. for “Redesigning the Academic Library Materials Budget for the Digital Age: Applying the Power of Faceted Classification to Acquisitions Fund Management”.  (vol. 63, no. 2, April 2019, pp. 131-142)
2019 Amy Jankowski, Anne Schultz and Laura Soito for “Motley Crew: Collaboration across an Academic Library to Revive an Orphaned Collection”. (vol. 62, no. 3, July 2018, pp. 114 -126).
2018 Deborah B. Henry and Tina M. Neville for “Repositories at Master’s Institutions: A Census and Analysis”. (vol. 61, no. 3, July 2017, pp. 124-133).
2017 Kelly J. Thompson for "More Than a Name: A Content Analysis of Name Authority Records for Authors Who Self-Identify as Trans." (vol. 60, no. 3, July 2016, pp. 140-155). 
2016 M. Pilar Alonso Lifante and Francisco Javier Molero Madrid for “Enhancing OPAC Records: Evaluating and Fitting Within Cataloging Standards a New Proposal of Description Parameters for Historical Astronomical Resources.” (vol. 59, no. 4, October 2015, pp. 140-161).
2015 Christine N. Turner for "E-Resource Acquisitions in Academic Library Consortia," (vol. 58, no. 1 January 2014, pp 33–48).
2014 Wen-Ying Lu and Mary Beth Chambers for "PDA Consortium Style: The CU MyiLibrary Cataloging Experience," (vol. 57, no. 3 July 2013, pp. 164–78).
2013 Philip Evan Schreur for "The Academy Unbound: Linked Data as Revolution," (vol. 56, no.4 October 2012, pp. 227–37).
2012 Erin Stalberg and Christopher Cronin for "Assessing the Cost and Value of Bibliographic Control," (vol. 55, no.3 July 2011, pp.124–37).
2011 Whitney Baker and Liz Dube for “Identifying Standard Practices in Research Library Book Conservation,” (vol. 54, no.1 January 2011, pp.21–39).
2010 Patricia Dragon, for “Name Authority Control in Local Digitization Projects and the Eastern North Carolina Postcard Collection,” (vol. 53, no. 3 July 2009, pp. 185–96).
2009 Karen Schmidt, Wendy Allen Shelburne, and David Steven Vess for “Approaches to Selection, Access, and Collection Development in the Web World,” (vol. 52, no. 3, July 2008, pp. 184–191).
2008 William H. Walters for “A Regression-based Approach to Library Fund Allocation,” (vol. 51, no. 4, October 2007, pp. 263–278).
2007 Jim Stemper and Susan Barribeau for "Perpetual Access to Electronic Journals: A Survey of One Academic Research Library’s Licenses," (vol. 50, no 2, April 2006, pp. 91–109).
2006 Jennifer Bowen for "FRBR: Coming Soon to Your Library," (vol. 49, no. 3, July 2005, pp. 175–188).
2005 Kristin Antelman for “Identifying the Serial Work as a Bibliographic Entity,” (vol. 48, no. 4, October 2004, pp. 238–55).
2004 Amy Weiss for "Proliferating Guidelines: A History and Analysis of the Cataloging of Electronic Resources," (vol. 47, no. 4 October 2003, pp. 171–187).
2003 Richard Fyffe for "Technological Change and the Scholarly Communications Reform Movement: Reflections on Castells and Giddens," (vol. 46, no. 2 April 2002, pp. 50–61).
2002 Bartley A. Burk and Laura D. Shedenhelm for "Book Vendor Records in the OCLC Database: Boon or Bane?," 45(1): 10–19.
2001 Sherry L. Vellucci for "Metadata and Authority Control," 44(1): 33–43.
2000 Robert Conrad Winke for "An analysis of Tables of Contents in Recent English-Language Books," 43(1): 14–27.
1999 Lois Mai Chan and Diane Vizine-Goetz for "Toward a Computer-Generated Subject Validation File: Feasibility and Usefulness," 42(1): 45–60.
1998 Samuel G. Demas and Jennie L. Brogdon for "Determining Copyright Status for Preservation and Access: Defining Reasonable Effort," 41(4): 323–334.
1997 Michael Kaplan for his article "Technical Services Workstations: A Review of the State of the Art," 40(2): 171–183.
1996 Samuel G. Demas, Peter McDonald, and Gregory Lawrence for "The Internet and Collection Development: Mainstreaming Selection of Internet Resources" 39 (July 1995), 275–90.
1995 Martha M. Yee for "Manifestations in Near-Equivalence: Theory, with special attention to moving-image materials" (vol. 38, no. 3, July 1994, pp. 227–255).
1994 Angela Giral and Arlene G. Taylor for "Indexing Overlap and Consistency Between the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals and the Architectural Periodicals Index" (vol. 37, no. 1, January 1993, pp. 19–44).
1993 Ross Atkinson for "The Acquisitions Librarian as Change Agent in the Transition of the Electronic Library" (vol. 36, no. 1, January 1992, pp. 7–22).
1992 Karen A. Schmidt for "The Education of the Acquisitions Librarian: A Survey of ARL Acquisitions Librarians" (vol. 35, no. 1, January 1991, pp. 7–22).
1991 Beth M. Paskoff and Anna H. Perrault for "A Tool for Comparative Collection Analysis: Conducting a Shelflist Sample to Construct a Collection Profile" (vol. 34, no. 2, April 1990, pp. 199–215).
1990 Joe A. Hewitt for "On the Nature of Acquisitions" (vol. 33, no. 2, April, 1989, pp. 105–22).
1989 Roxanne Sellberg for "The Teaching of Cataloging in U.S. Library Schools" (vol. 32, no. 1, January, 1988, pp. 30–43).
1988 No award presented
1987 Patricia A. McClung for "Costs Associated with Preservation Microfilming: Results of the Research Libraries Group Studies" (vol. 30, no. 4, October/December, 1986, pp. 363–76).