Awards Governance

The ALCTS Awards are among the most coveted of all the ALA awards. The eight awards recognize individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the library profession through their work, their writing, or their service. The awards also recognize newer members of the profession who exhibit great potential.


Recognizing outstanding achievement

  • Banks-Harris Preservation Award
  • Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award
  • Leadership in Acquisitions Award
  • Margaret Mann Citation
  • Esther J. Piercy Award
  • Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award
  • Cunha-Swartzburg Preservation Award

Recognizing outstanding contribution to the professional literature

  • Best of LRTS
  • Outstanding Publication

Recognizing outstanding potential

  • First Step Award, A John Wiley Professional Development Grant
  • Library Support Staff Travel Grant

Presidential Citations for Outstanding Service

  • Each year, the ALCTS President may award Presidential Citations to individual members of the Association in recognition of their outstanding service, usually for the previous year. Selection of recipients is at the discretion of the President from nominations received.

Procedures for Administering Awards

Responsibilities of the Jury

Responsibilities of the Board of Directors

Responsibilities of the Executive Director


Establishment of a New Award