Awards & Grants

ALCTS and its sections honor librarians and information professionals for outstanding and potential achievement in serials, cataloging, acquisitions, published scholarship, preservation, and general technical services librarianship.

Recipients are selected by award juries that are composed of their peers.

Certain ALCTS awards will not be presented in 2021. Please visit the Core Awards & Scholarships page for information on the Core awards that will be presented for 2020-2021.


Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award

ALCTS Outstanding Publication Award


Outstanding Collaboration Citation

ProQuest Coutts Award for Innovation

Professional Achievement

Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award (Deadline is November 15)

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award

Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award

Esther J. Piercy Award

Margaret Mann Citation (outstanding service)

The HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award (acquisitions)

Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award (continuing resources)

Presidential Citation (special service to ALCTS)

ALCTS Honors

Achievement for Newer Professionals

First Step Award, a Wiley Professional Development Grant

Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant

Lois Mai Chan Professional Development Grant

For Professionals in Developing Countries

Online Course Grant (given for each scheduled ALCTS Web Course)