News from the Profession

California Library Association Presents Two Awards

Technical Services Interest Group Award of Achievement

award winners

TSIG members (from left): Bie-Hwa Ma (Chair), Julie Moore (Award of Achievement Recipient), Diane Malmstrom (New Leader Award Recipient), and Sandy Schmitz (Vice Chair).

The TSIG Award of Achievement is an opportunity to recognize colleagues who have made outstanding contributions in those areas of librarianship that have been especially challenged by the need for innovation and adaptation in dealing with rapidly changing technology and work environments.

Julie Moore is the 2010 winner of the TSIG Award of Achievement. Moore is a catalog librarian who has made significant contributions to the profession of cataloging in California as well as across the United States. She is a tenured, full librarian on the faculty of the Henry Madden Library, California State University, Fresno. She has been recognized twice by her university with its Outstanding Library Publications Award, the most recent of which was for the Guide to Cataloging DVD and Blu-ray Discs Using AACR2r and MARC 21: 2008 Update. (She served as co-author and co-editor on the DVD Cataloging Guide Update Task Force, Cataloging Policy Committee, Online Audiovisual Catalogers, Inc.)

Moore is an expert cataloger (with a special interest in special formats) and a gifted cataloging educator. Her ability as a trainer and presenter has contributed to CLA TSIG's reputation for quality programs and workshops. In 2007, Moore co-planned a CLA Conference institute on electronic resource management, presented her own workshop on cataloging realia, and explained RDA: Resource Description and Access at a poster session.

The CLA TSIG is pleased to honor Julie Moore for her enthusiastic and tireless devotion to the library profession, technical services, and continuing education for catalogers everywhere.

California Library Association Technical Services Interest Group New Leader Award

The CLA New Leader Award is a $500 stipend to support attendance at the CLA Annual Conference awarded to a CLA TSIG member who is currently enrolled in an MLIS program or has no more than five years of post-MLIS library experience. The applicant must demonstrate interest in a Technical Services career and willingness to serve the CLA TSIG as a future committee member or officer.

The recipient of the 2010 New Leader Award is Diane Malmstrom, currently a student in the LIS program at San Jose State University. She also works at SJSU's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library in their Acquisitions unit, where she is responsible for database purchasing, collecting statistics and managing ERM records, resolving access issues with vendors, maintaining the vendor databases, and other related duties. Malmstrom also has experience ordering and cataloging in the library's Technical Services unit, and has performed customer service duties and trained staff in the library's Access Services unit.

Malmstrom has also served as secretary of the San Jose/Dublin Ireland Sister City Program and has organized and promoted program events. The New Leader Award Committee found ample evidence of Diane's potential for leadership in her experience in libraries and in the broader community.