Contact:  LoisAnn Gregory-Wood
ALA Governance
For Immediate Release
May 1, 2006               

ALA councilors elected

CHICAGO - Thirty-three members have been elected to the Council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms.

The 2006-2009 Councilors-at-Large are:
* Rosie L. Albritton
* Cassandra G. Barnett
* Elizabeth (Beth) E. Bingham
* Carolyn Sue Brodie 
* Katherine (Kate) Ann Corby
* Joseph (Bob) R. Diaz
* Heidi W. Dolamore
* David L. Easterbrook
* Ann Dutton Ewbank
* Amy Gonzalez Ferguson
* Nancy Fredericks
* Carolyn P. Giambra
* Michael A. Golrick
* Michael Gutierrez
* Rochelle L. Hartman
* Elizabeth (Beth) K. Hill
* Dora T. Ho
* Patricia M. Hogan
* Dennis J. LeLoup
* Virginia (Ginny) B. Moore
* Andrea M. Morrison
* Ria Elizabeth Newhouse
* Nancy C. Pack 
* Jo Ann Pinder
* Ellen M. Riordan
* Larry Romans
* Frances R. Roscello
* Mark C. Rosenzweig
* Gail A. Schlachter
* Barbara Silverman
* Margie J. Thomas
* Shixing Wen
* Nancy P. Zimmerman
Eight other Councilors also have been elected for 2006-2009:

ALA Divisions
American Association of School Librarians (AASL)
Sylvia K. Norton
Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)
Linda A. Perkins

Association for Library Trustees and Advocates (ALTA)
Shirley Bruursema
Reference and User Services Association (RUSA)
Pamela C. Sieving

ALA Round Tables
Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT)
Sylvia J. Turchyn

International Relations Round Table (IRRT)
Hector Marino

Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT)
Alfred Kagan

Continuing Library Education Network and Exchange Round Table (CLENERT), Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT), Exhibits Round Table (ERT), Federal and Armed Forces Libraries Round Table (FAFLRT), Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Round Table (GLBTRT), Library History Round Table (LHRT), Library Research Round Table (LRRT), Library Support Staff Interest Round Table (LSSIRT), Map and Geography Round Table (MAGERT), Staff Organizations Round Table (SORT) and Video Round Table (VRT)
Mary McInroy

All four proposed bylaw amendments were approved:
* to revise the dues structure and implement a dues increase;
* to reflect the electronic accessibility of the ALA Handbook of Organization;
* to increase Round Table representation on Council; and
* to modify the quorum requirement for affirmative votes in non-face-to-face meetings

A total of 14,696 votes were cast in the election. Council, Division and Round Table elections also were decided.

For complete election results, please visit: