General Information | Registration | Travel & Hotels | Meetings & Sessions
Special Events | Visit the Exhibits | Event Planner




Macey Morales
Media Relations Manager

Jennifer Petersen
PR Coordinator

Midwinter Meeting Fact Sheet 
Youth Media Awards Fact Sheet
ALA Awards and Notables Fact Sheet 
American Library Association Fact Sheet 

Midwinter Meeting
ALA Literary Awards
Midwinter Meeting Wiki 

American Library Association's
Midwinter Meeting

The American Library Association (ALA) is the voice of America’s libraries. Generally held in January, the ALA Midwinter Meeting draws more than 10,000 leaders in the library and information industry for some 2,000 meetings and events. About 450 exhibits feature the latest in books, videos, computers and other materials and resources available to millions of library users. A snapshot of conference events and meetings is provided in the overall conference release.

As part of the conference, the ALA will announce its Youth Media Awards. Each year the ALA honors books, videos and other outstanding materials for children and teens. Recognized worldwide for the high-quality they represent, ALA awards guide parents, educators, librarians and others in selecting the best materials for youth.

The 2008 award winners will be announced Monday, January 14, starting at 7:45 a.m. ET. A live  Webcast of the award announcements will be available on a first-come, fist-served basis. Award press release will be posted online by 10 a.m. EST at


For more information on ALA's youth media awards please visit

Press Room Location:

Pennsylvania Convention Center
Level 200, Bridge

**ALA Conference Media Credential Policy** 


Friday, January 11       8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday, January 12   7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Sunday, January 13     7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Monday, January 14    7:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Press Releases:

Philadelphia site for national conversations on future of U.S. libraries 

Senior FBI official, whistleblower to address ALA Meeting

ALA to provide live Webcast of top children/teen literary awards announcement January 14

YALSA offers institute on teen advocacy at Midwinter

LITA hosts happy hour at ALA Midwinter

Website Graphic Design Concept to debut at Philadelphia Midwinter

NBA legend to make keynote speech at ALA President’s Program

RUSA presents genealogical reference institute at Midwinter

ACRL announces ALA Midwinter Meeting workshops

ALCTS announces Midwinter Symposium on risk and entrepreneurship in libraries

ALSC to offer pre-Midwinter institute for those serving parenting teens and their children

LAMA Midwinter Institute in Philadelphia Focuses on Improving Project Managers

Two advocacy programs available at 2008 ALA Midwinter Conference

ALSC launches inaugural William C. Morris Seminar: Book Evaluation Training at Midwinter 2008

Save the date for the Advocacy Institute at ALA’s 2008 Midwinter Meeting

YALSA gears up for Midwinter with special events and media awards

Dr. Ganga B. Dakshinamurti keynote speaker of ALA 6th annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Sunrise Celebration

Register for YALSA’s Midwinter Gaming Extravaganza

Freedom to Read Foundation to sponsor Philadelphia event with Anthony Lewis

Jazz violin virtuoso to headline Curley Memorial Lecture

SPARC-ACRL Forum to focus on student engagement

NJLA to co-sponsor Advocacy Institute

ALCTS announces forums for midwinter in Philadelphia

PaLA to co-sponsor Advocacy Institute

NYLA to co-sponsor Advocacy Institute

RUSA presents genealogical reference institute at Midwinter


Arthur Curley Memorial Lecture

Regina Carter, jazz violinist, to perform at Arthur Curley Memorial Lecture on Saturday, January 12, at 1:30 p.m.
ALA President's Program

ALA President Loriene Roy

Featuring Kareem Abdul - Jabbar
Sunday, January 13, 2008, 3:30 - 5:30 pm


Conference Logos

Alex Awards 
Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award
Caldecott Medal
Carnegie Medal
Coretta Scott King Award 
Edwards Award
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Newbery Medal

Odyssey Award

Printz Award

Pura Belpré Award

Schneider Family Book Award
Sibert Informational Book Medal
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
0:0 ::