Contact: Macey Morales 
ALA Media Relations


2007 Youth Media Awards


Youth Media Awards Today Show segment
Shot live on January 23, 2007 with Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) Immediate Past President Ellen Fader.  

Midwinter Media Activity Report

Youth Media Awards Webcast

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the winners of its prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, Coretta Scott King and Printz awards for the best children’s and young adult literature on Monday, January 22, 2007 at its Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

A standing-room-only crowd of enthusiastic librarians and publishers gathered in Washington State Trade & Convention Center to cheer their favorites and to be the first in the nation to know which books are destined to be lasting classics. 


The ALA also announced a number of other adult book award winners and notable booklists throughout the Midwinter Meeting.  Announcement press releases for the Youth Media Awards are posted to this page. Other ALA Literary Award announcements will be posted to this page as we receive them.


2007 Youth Media Award announcements include:


  • John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature.
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults. 
  • Coretta Scott King Award recognizing African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to "the true worth and value of all beings."
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the outstanding book for beginning readers.
  • Alex Awards for the best adult books that appeal to teen audiences.
  • Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children's video.
  • Sibert Award for most distinguished informational book for children.
  • Margaret Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults.
  • Batchelder Award for an outstanding children's book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States.
  • Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.
  • Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.
  • May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award  honors an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, of any country, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site.

Fact Sheets

Youth Media Awards

ALA Awards and Notables 

Other Related Sites

ALA literary awards

2007 Midwinter Press Kit

Midwinter Meeting Conference Web site
0:0 ::