For more information on these awards, and lists of previous winners, see the ALA Office of Research and Statistics (ORS).
Phyllis Dain Library History Dissertation Award
$500 and certificate. Biennial award to the author of a dissertation treating the history of books, libraries, librarianship, or information science. Given in odd-numbered years. Deadline: February 27, 2009.

Donald G. Davis Article Award
Certificate. Presented bi-annually, the award recognizes the best article written in English in the field of United States and Canadian library history.  Deadline: February 29, 2008.

Eliza Atkins Gleason Book Award
Certificate. Presented every third year, the award recognizes the best book written in English in the field of library history.  Deadline: March 1, 2010.

Justin Winsor Essay Prize
$500 and publication of the winning essay in Libraries & the Cultural Record. To an author of an outstanding essay embodying original historical research on a significant subject of library history. Deadline: February 29, 2008.

Questions and applications should be directed to the Library History Round Table's liaison at ALA, Letitia Earvin,


0:0 ::