ALA   American Library Association Search ALA      Contact ALA      Login     
ALCTS logo
ALA HomeAcquisitionsCatalogingCRGCollectionsPreservationSerialsSearch
Contact Us

Print this page Print this page

Margaret Mann Citation

Deadline for nominations is December 1.


The Margaret Mann Citation is awarded by the ALA ALCTS Cataloging and Classification Section for outstanding professional achievement in cataloging or classification either through publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional cataloging associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries.


OCLC Online Computer Library Center will donate a $2,000 scholarship to the U.S. or Canadian library School of the winning author's choice.


The Margaret Mann Citation Committee bases its selection on nominations made by members of the profession or friends of the profession-anyone with a worthy candidate is urged to nominate that person.

Achievements to be considered include:

  1. Notable publications, such as an article, pamphlet, or book;
  2. Outstanding contribution to the activities of professional cataloging associations;
  3. Outstanding contribution to the technical improvement of cataloging and classification and/or the introduction of a new technique of recognized importance;
  4. Outstanding contribution in the area of teaching cataloging and classification.

Except in unusual circumstances, the achievement shall have culminated within the last five years.

Nationality and professional association membership are not among the criteria.

Submission Procedure

The nomination shall include the formal statement of nomination with some rationale and a resume or narrative summary of the nominee's career and achievements. Nominations of those nominated in a given year but who are not selected for the citation that year will be forwarded to the following year's committee for automatic reconsideration. Further consideration beyond this requires renomination.

Endorsements or "seconds" are welcomed inasmuch as they provide substantive information on the achievements of the candidate, but the number of additional letters is not the sole determining factor in the selection.

For nomination information contact the chair of the Margaret Mann Citation Jury.

Recipients of the Awards

Year Recipient(s)
2007Robert Wolven
2006 Judith Hopkins
2005 Dorothy McGarry
2004 Barbara Tillett
2003 Thomas J. Delsey
2002 Jean Hirons
2001 Brian E.C. Schottlaender
2000 Patricia M. Thomas
1999 Nancy B. Olson
1998 John D. Byrum
1997 Sheila S. Intner
1996 Arlene G. Taylor
1995 Arnold Wajenberg
1994 Carol Ann Mandel
1993 Janet Swan Hill
1992 Elaine Svenonius
1991 Margaret F. Maxwell
1990 Ronald Hagler
1989 Lois Mai Chan
1988 Ben R. Tucker
1987 Dorothy Glasby
1986 Jean Weihs
1985 Lucia Rather
1984 Dorothy Anderson
1983 Frances Hinton
1982 Elizabeth Baughman
1981 Sanford Berman
1980 Peter Lewis
1979 Jointly to Michael Gorman and Paul Winkler
1978 Derek William Austin
1977 Phyllis Allen Richmond
1976 Eva Verona
1975 Margaret Webster Ayrault
1974 Frederick Kilgour
1973 Doralyn J. Hickey
1972 Edmund L. Applebaum
1971 Henriette D. Avram
1970 S.R. Ranganathan
1969 Katharine L. Ball
1968 Paul S. Dunkin
1967 C. Sumner Spalding
1966 F. Bernice Field
1965 Laura Catherine Colvin
1964 Catherine MacQuarrie
1963 Arthur Hugh Chaplin
1962 Willis E. Wright
1961 John William Cronin
1960 M. Ruth MacDonald
1959 Andrew D. Osborn
1958 Esther J. Piercy
1957 Daniel Judson Haykin
1956 Susan Grey Akers
1955 Seymour Lubetzky
1954 Pauline A. Seely
1953 Maurice F. Tauber
1952 Marie Louise Prevost
1951 Lucile M. Morsch

For questions regarding ALCTS pages, contact ALCTS,
Last Revised: January 29, 2010

Copyright © 2004, American Library Association.
Margaret, mann, citation, ALCTS, CCS, cataloging, classification
The Margaret Mann Citation is awarded for outstanding professional achievement in cataloging or classification.