ALA   American Library Association Search ALA      Contact ALA      Login     
American Association of School Librarians logo
American Association of School Librarians
School Libraries & You button Education & Careers button Issues & Advocacy button Awards button About AASL button AASL News button
Publications & Journals button Conferences & Events button Professional Tools button

IT Pathfinder Award  
  Collaborative SLM Award
  Highsmith Research Grant
  ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant
  Distinguished School Administrators
  Distinguished Service Award
  Frances Henne Award
  IT Pathfinder Award
  Innovative Reading Grant
  Intellectual Freedom Award
  Nat'l SLM Program of the Year
  School Librarian's Scholarship
  Crystal Apple Award
  3M Salute to Schools
  Beyond Words: Dollar General School Library Relief Fund
Opens new window to print this page

AASL Information Technology Pathfinder Award

Sponsored by Follett Software Company

Established in 1985 (as the Microcomputer in the Media Center Award), the award recognizes and honors a school library media specialist demonstrating vision and leadership through the use of information technology to build lifelong learners. This award, $1,000 to the school library media specialist and $500 to the library, is given in two categories--elementary (K-6) and secondary (7-12). Applicants must be AASL personal members. 

The 2007 application process has ended. 2008 applications will be available in June.

Past Recipients

Elementary Category Secondary Category
2006 Julie Masterson-Smith Sara Reibman
2005 no award given no award given
2004 no award given Rebecca Perkins
2003 no award given Sarah McElrath
2002 no award given Ken Vesey
2001 Beverly "Buffy" Smith-Edwards Ann Bell
2000 Kimberly Sweigart Grotewold Dr. J. Dale Guthrie
1999 Sharlene Miller Ballas Betty K. Brackin
1998 Constance Vidor Lynda S. Morris
1997 no award given Lynzie Boudreaux
1996 Marsha L. West Cynthia Montoya
1995 M. Ellen Jay Peggy A. Nelson Kallsen
1994 no award given Becky Mather
1993 no award given Pamela Hill
1992 no award given Rochelle Glantz
1991 David James Hende Bonnie Lynn Fishrson
1990 John Crowley Lynnette H. Duhammell
1989 Joyce M Kendall Larry A. Parsons
1988 Nancy Everhart Linda Hartman
1987 Carol L. Fisher Cecilia Hunter
1986 Robert Skapura Elizabeth Bankhead and
Carole Martinez
1985 Raymond W. Barber Judy Logan

*Adobe® Acrobat® Reader is required to view and print PDF documents. You can download Acrobat® Reader for free if it is not already installed on your system.


50 E. Huron Chicago, IL 60611 Call Us Toll Free 1-800-545-2433

©2009 American Library Association. Copyright Statement
View our Privacy Policy. For questions or comments about the Web site, complete the Feedback Form.
FAQ   Member and Customer Service   Events Calendar

Last Revised: July 20, 2009
The award, donated by the Follett Software Company, recognizes library media specialists for innovative approaches to information technology in the school library media center. The award, $1,000 to the school library media specialist and $500 to the library, is given in two categories--elementary (K-6) and secondary (7-12).