ALA   American Library Association Search ALA      Contact ALA      Login     
American Association of School Librarians logo
American Association of School Librarians
School Libraries & You button Education & Careers button Issues & Advocacy button Awards button About AASL button AASL News button
Publications & Journals button Conferences & Events button Professional Tools button

Intellectual Freedom Award  
  Collaborative SLM Award
  Highsmith Research Grant
  ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant
  Distinguished School Administrators
  Distinguished Service Award
  Frances Henne Award
  IT Pathfinder Award
  Innovative Reading Grant
  Intellectual Freedom Award
  Nat'l SLM Program of the Year
  School Librarian's Scholarship
  Crystal Apple Award
  3M Salute to Schools
  Beyond Words: Dollar General School Library Relief Fund
Opens new window to print this page

AASL Intellectual Freedom Award

Sponsored by ProQuest

Established in 1982, the award, $2,000 to the recipient and $1,000 to the media center of the recipient's choice, is given for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by the American Association of School Librarians and the American Library Association. Applicants must be AASL personal members. 

The 2007 application process has ended. 2008 applications will be available in June.

Past Recipients

2006 Catherine Crain, Thompson Intermediate School, Houston, Texas
2005 Ann Ewbank, Cholla Middle School, Phoenix, Ariz.
2004 no award given
2003 no award given
2002 no award given
2001 Dianne Mc Afee Hopkins, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2000 Linda G. Cornette, Dublin (OH) City Schools
1999 no award given
1998 no award given
1997 Ginny Moore Kruse, Cooperative Children's Book Center-Madison, WI
1996 Ann K. Symons, Juneau-Douglas High School, Juneau, AK
1995 no award given
1994 Ruth E. Dishnow, Texas Woman's University Denton, TX
1993 no award given
1992 no award given
1991 Neva Thompson, Humboldt Unified District, Dewey, AZ
1990 Linda L. Waddle, Cedar Hills High School, Cedar Hills, IA
1989 William A. Murray, Jr-Aurora Public Schools, Aurora, CO
1988 Nancy Morena, Kocurek Elementary School, Austin, TX
1987 Gayle Keresey, East Arcadia School, Riegelwood, NC
1986 Carolyn Kellerman, Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, NM
1985 no award given
1984 Vicki H. Hardesty, Findlay High School, Santa Fe, NM
1983 Pat Scales, Greenville Middle School, Greenville, SC
1982 Frances Dean, Plains High School, Plains, TX

*Adobe® Acrobat® Reader is required to view and print PDF documents. You can download Acrobat® Reader for free if it is not already installed on your system.


50 E. Huron Chicago, IL 60611 Call Us Toll Free 1-800-545-2433

©2009 American Library Association. Copyright Statement
View our Privacy Policy. For questions or comments about the Web site, complete the Feedback Form.
FAQ   Member and Customer Service   Events Calendar

Last Revised: July 20, 2009
The award, $2,000 to the recipient and $1,000 to the media center of the recipient's choice donated by SIRS Mandarin, recognizes a personal member of AASL who has upheld the principles of intellectual freedom.