ALA   American Library Association Search ALA      Contact ALA      Login     
American Association of School Librarians logo
American Association of School Librarians
School Libraries & You button Education & Careers button Issues & Advocacy button Awards button About AASL button AASL News button
Publications & Journals button Conferences & Events button Professional Tools button

Frances Henne Award  
  Collaborative SLM Award
  Highsmith Research Grant
  ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant
  Distinguished School Administrators
  Distinguished Service Award
  Frances Henne Award
  IT Pathfinder Award
  Innovative Reading Grant
  Intellectual Freedom Award
  Nat'l SLM Program of the Year
  School Librarian's Scholarship
  Crystal Apple Award
  3M Salute to Schools
  Beyond Words: Dollar General School Library Relief Fund
Opens new window to print this page

AASL Frances Henne Award

Sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group

Established in 1986, the $1,250 award recognizes a school library media specialist with five years or less experience who demonstrates leadership qualities with students, teachers and administrators, to attend an AASL conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time. Applicants must be AASL personal members. 

The 2007 application process has ended. 2008 applications will be available in June.

Past Recipients

2006 Gladys Fox
2005 John McDonald
2004 Cynthia Welsh
2003 Teresa Diaz
2002 Laura Stiles
2001 Katherine Grant Cadden
2000 Carl A. Harvey II
1999 Marsha Trentham Hunter
1998 Kimberly A. Grimes
1997 Roxanna K. Morse
1996 Jane Baldwin
1995 Suzanne Shearman
1994 Robert Craig Bunch
1993 Susan Elizabeth Bucko
1992 Barbara A. Jansen
1991 David Wayne Calendar
1990 Joan Enders
1989 Kathleen Rooney Sornsin
1988 Jane Louise Thomas
1987 Nancy Quesada Moreno
1986 Kathryn Smrekar

*Adobe® Acrobat® Reader is required to view and print PDF documents. You can download Acrobat® Reader for free if it is not already installed on your system.


50 E. Huron Chicago, IL 60611 Call Us Toll Free 1-800-545-2433

©2009 American Library Association. Copyright Statement
View our Privacy Policy. For questions or comments about the Web site, complete the Feedback Form.
FAQ   Member and Customer Service   Events Calendar

Last Revised: July 20, 2009
The $1,250 award, sponsored by the Greenwood Publishing Group, is given to a school library media specialist with five or fewer years in the profession to attend an AASL conference or ALA Annual Conference for the first time.