ALA   American Library Association Search ALA      Contact ALA      Login     
American Association of School Librarians logo
American Association of School Librarians
School Libraries & You button Education & Careers button Issues & Advocacy button Awards button About AASL button AASL News button
Publications & Journals button Conferences & Events button Professional Tools button

Distinguished Service Award  
  Collaborative SLM Award
  Highsmith Research Grant
  ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant
  Distinguished School Administrators
  Distinguished Service Award
  Frances Henne Award
  IT Pathfinder Award
  Innovative Reading Grant
  Intellectual Freedom Award
  Nat'l SLM Program of the Year
  School Librarian's Scholarship
  Crystal Apple Award
  3M Salute to Schools
  Beyond Words: Dollar General School Library Relief Fund
Opens new window to print this page

AASL Distinguished Service Award

Sponsored by Baker and Taylor

Established in 1978, the $3,000 award recognizes an individual member of the library profession who has, over a significant period of time, made an outstanding national contribution to school librarianship and school library development. Nominations must be made by AASL personal members. 

The 2007 application process has ended. 2008 nominations will be available in June.

Past Recipients

2006 Michael Eisenberg
2005 Rebecca Bingham
2004 M. Ellen Jay
2003 no award given
2002 David Loerstcher
2001 Hilda L. Jay
2000 Dr. Carol Colier Kuhlthau
1999 Dr. Jaqueline C. Mancall
1998 Bernice L. Yesner
1997 Dr. Blanche E. Wools
1996 Ken Haycock
1995 Judith M. Pitts
1994 Lucille Cole Thomas
1993 Marilyn L. Miller
1992 Dianne McAfee Hopkins
1991 Barbara Spriesterbach
1990 Ruth Bell
1989 Virgina H. Mathews
1988 Margaret I. Rufsvold
1987 Alice Lohrer
1986 Margaret Hayes Grazier
1985 Frances S. Hatfield
1984 Rheta A. Clark
1983 Rachel Wingfield DeAngelo
1982 D. Phillip Baker
1981 Mary Helen Mahar
1980 Mary V. Gaver
1979 Frances E. Henne
1978 Jean E. Lowrie

*Adobe® Acrobat® Reader is required to view and print PDF documents. You can download Acrobat® Reader for free if it is not already installed on your system.


50 E. Huron Chicago, IL 60611 Call Us Toll Free 1-800-545-2433

©2009 American Library Association. Copyright Statement
View our Privacy Policy. For questions or comments about the Web site, complete the Feedback Form.
FAQ   Member and Customer Service   Events Calendar

Last Revised: July 20, 2009
The $3,000 award, donated by Baker & Taylor, recognizes a librarian who has made an outstanding contribution to school librarianship and school library development.