ALA   American Library Association Search ALA      Contact ALA      Login     
American Association of School Librarians logo
American Association of School Librarians
School Libraries & You button Education & Careers button Issues & Advocacy button Awards button About AASL button AASL News button
Publications & Journals button Conferences & Events button Professional Tools button

Distinguished School Administrators  
  Collaborative SLM Award
  Highsmith Research Grant
  ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant
  Distinguished School Administrators
  Distinguished Service Award
  Frances Henne Award
  IT Pathfinder Award
  Innovative Reading Grant
  Intellectual Freedom Award
  Nat'l SLM Program of the Year
  School Librarian's Scholarship
  Crystal Apple Award
  3M Salute to Schools
  Beyond Words: Dollar General School Library Relief Fund
Opens new window to print this page

Distinguished School Administrators Award

Sponsored by ProQuest

Established in 1985, the $2,000 award honors a school administrator who has made worthy contributions to the operations of an exemplary school library media center and to advancing the role of the school library media center in the educational program. Nominations must be made by AASL personal members. 

The 2007 application process has ended. 2008 nominations will be available in June.

Past Recipients

2006 Kay McBride Library Specialist, Pasadena (Texas) ISD
2005 Michael Hart Principal, Holy Rosary School, Tacoma, Wash.
2004 Dr. William Harner Principal, Greenville County School District, Greenville, SC
2003 Barbara E. De Spain Principal, Lois Lenski Elementary School, Centennial, Colo.
2002 Dr. William Meuer Norwood Park School, Chicago, Ill.
2001 Dr. Kathleen D. Smith Cherry Creek High School, Englewood, Colo.
2000 Dr. Elaine Armani Associate Superinterdent for Curriculum and Instruction, Waukegan Community School District, Waukegan, Ill.
1999 Eugene Sudol Principal-Wayne Hills High School, Wayne, N.J.
1998 Brian Fagan Assistant Superintendent, Fairfield Public Schools, Fairfield, Conn.
1997 Donald V. DeLong Superintendent, Merced City School District, Merced, Calif.
1996 Faye Kimsey Principal, Lakeside Elementary School, Chattanooga, Tenn.
1995 No recipient
1994 James C. Enochs Superintendent, Modesto City School, Modesto, Calif.
1993 Susan Robinson Principal, Harcourt Elementary School, Indianapolis, Ind.
1992 Thomas L. Gibbs Assistant Superintendent for Secodary Education, Indian Prairie School District #204 Naperville, Ill.
1991 Marilyn Blakely Director of Elementary Education, Vigo County School Corporation, Terre Haute, nd.
1990 Dr.Richard Doremus Superintendent, Shoreham-Wading River Central School District, Shoreham, N.Y.
1989 Robert Gross Superintendent, ISD #181, Brainerd, Minn.
1988 Ralph Ricardo Superintendent, Ascension Parish School District, Donaldsville, La.
1987 Ron Wimmer Assistant Superintendent, Olathe District Schools, Olathe, Kan.
1986 William H. Phillips Superintendent, Jordan Elbridge Central School District, Jordan N.Y.
1985 E. Wayne Harris Fairfax County School District, Alexandria, Va.

*Adobe® Acrobat® Reader is required to view and print PDF documents. You can download Acrobat® Reader for free if it is not already installed on your system.


50 E. Huron Chicago, IL 60611 Call Us Toll Free 1-800-545-2433

©2009 American Library Association. Copyright Statement
View our Privacy Policy. For questions or comments about the Web site, complete the Feedback Form.
FAQ   Member and Customer Service   Events Calendar

Last Revised: July 20, 2009
The $2,000 award, donated by SIRS Mandarin, is given to a school administrator for developing an exemplary school library media program and making an outstanding and sustained contribution to advancing the role of the school library media center.