2021 ALA Elections: Spectrum Leaders

The Spectrum Advisory Committee has compiled this list of Spectrum Scholars standing for office in the 2021 ALA Elections. We encourage you to support the mission of the Spectrum Scholarship Program by supporting these leaders! The 2021 ALA Elections open March 8, 2021 and close on April 7, 2021. If you're a Scholar standing for office in the upcoming ALA election, and you do not see your information listed here please let us know at spectrum@ala.org and you will be added.

Additionally, check out the Spectrum Advisory Committee's interview with the candidates for the 2022-23 presidency of the American Library Association: Stacey A. Aldrich, Ed Garcia, and Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada.

Vote in the ALA Election to support these Spectrum leaders, photos of scholars running for office on a green background

ALA Council

  • Stefani Gomez (2008 Fellow), Library Director, Cedar Crest College
  • Patricia Valdovinos (2014 Scholar), Librarian II - Multilingual Collections, Los Angeles Public Library

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/aboutala/governance/alaelection 

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

  • ALSC 2023 Newberry Committee: Jessica Agudelo (2013 Scholar), Supervising Librarian, New York Public Library's Bronx Library Center
  • ALSC 2023 Newberry Committee: Kristen Kwisnek (2008 Scholar), Lower School Librarian, Severn School
  • ALSC 2023 Caldecott Committee, Cristina Mitra (2009 Scholar), Librarian II | Family Engagement Coordinator, San Francisco Public Library
  • ALSC 2023 Legacy Committee, Marika Jeffery (2011 Scholar), Youth Services Librarian, San Diego Public Library

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/alsc/aboutalsc/governance/election/2021_slate 

Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)

  • ACRL Board of Directors Director-at-Large: Yasmeen Shorish (2009 Scholar), Head of Scholarly Communications, James Madison University
  • ACRL Arts Section Vice-chair/Chair-elect: Carla-Mae Crookendale (2010 Scholar), Arts Research Librarian, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • ACRL European Studies Section Member-at-Large: Liladhar R. Pendse (2007 Fellow), Librarian for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies and Librarian for the Caribbean and Latin American Studies Collections, University of California-Berkeley
  • ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Section Member-at-Large: Anna Chen (2009 Scholar), Head Librarian, UCLA

Learn more at https://crln.acrl.org/index.php/crlnews/article/view/24769/32613 

Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT)

  • Coretta Scott King Book Award Community Treasurer: Carmen Boston (2007 Scholar), Children's Programs & Partnerships Coordinator, DC Public Library

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/rt/emiert

Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT)

  • IFRT Chair-Elect: Rhonda Evans (2013 Scholar), Assistant Chief Librarian, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
  • IFRT Board Director-at-Large: Johana Orellana Cabrera (2011 Scholar), Adult Services Librarian, North Richland Hills (TX) Library

Learn more at https://www.oif.ala.org/oif/?p=24547

Public Library Association (PLA)

  • PLA President 2022-2023: Maria Taesil Hudson McCauley (1999 Scholar), Director of Libraries, Cambridge (MA) Public Library
  • PLA Board of Directors Directors-at-Large Seat A:Candice Wing-yee Mack (2005 Scholar), Administrator, Young Adult Services, Los Angeles (CA) Public Library

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/pla/about/people/election 

Reference & User Services Association (RUSA)

  • RUSA Business Reference And Services Section (BRASS) Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Orolando Duffus (2012 Scholar), Business Librarian, University of Houston Libraries

Learn more at https://rusaupdate.org/2021/03/election-slate-2021/

Sustainability Round Table (SustainRT)

  • SustainRT Coordinator-Elect: Tina Chan (2007 Scholar), Reference Services Program Manager and Social Sciences Librarian, MIT Libraries

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/rt/sustainrt 

Read more Spectrum Scholar News.