2020 ALA Elections: Spectrum Leaders

The Spectrum Advisory Committee has compiled this list of Spectrum Scholars standing for office in the 2020 ALA Elections. We encourage you to support the mission of the Spectrum Scholarship Program by supporting these leaders! The 2020 ALA Elections open March 9, 2020 and close on April 1, 2020. If you're a Scholar standing for office in the upcoming ALA election, and you do not see your information listed here please let us know at spectrum@ala.org and you will be added.

Additionally, check out the Spectrum Advisory Committee's interview with candidates for the 2021-2022 ALA Presidency, Patty Wong and Steven Yates.​​​​​​

Vote in the ALA Election by April 1 to support these Spectrum leaders.

ALA Council

  • Alanna Aiko Moore (2003 Scholar), Librarian for Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, UC San Diego
  • Tina Thomas (2018 Scholar), Executive Director of Strategy & Innovation, Edmonton Public Library

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/aboutala/governance/alaelection 

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

  • ALSC Division Councilor: Kimberly Patton (2007 Scholar), YS Collection Librarian, Kansas City Kansas Public Library
  • ALSC Caldecott 2022 Committee: Monica Tapia Boyer (2016 Scholar), Youth Services Manager, Fox River Valley Public Library District

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/alsc/aboutalsc/governance/election/2020-ALSC-Election-Slate

Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)

  • ACRL Digital Scholarship Section Vice-chair/chair-Elect: Elisandro Cabada (2016 Scholar), Medical and Bioengineering Librarian, Assistant Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • ACRL Instruction Section Vice-chair/Chair-elect: Veronica Arellano Douglas (2005 Scholar), Instruction Coordinator, University of Houston

Learn more at https://crln.acrl.org/index.php/crlnews/article/view/24228/32034

Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT)

  • Coretta Scott King Book Award Community – Book Awards Jury: Mahasin Aleem (2016 Scholar), Librarian I, Oakland Public Library
  • Coretta Scott King Book Award Community – Book Awards Jury: Carmen Boston (2007 Scholar), Children's Programs & Partnerships Coordinator, DC Public Library
  • Coretta Scott King Book Award Community – Book Awards Jury: Lettycia Terrones (2006 Scholar), Doctoral Student, University of Illinois

Learn more at http://www.ala.org/rt/emiert

Reference and User Services Association

  • Reference Services Section(RSS)Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Fatima Perkins (2006 Scholar), Director of Community Outreach & Advocacy, Western Reserve Area Agency

Learn more at https://rusaupdate.org/2019/12/election-slate-2020/