ALA 2019 Elections: Spectrum Leaders

The Spectrum Advisory Committee has compiled this list of Spectrum Scholars standing for office in the 2019 ALA Elections. We encourage you to support the mission of the Spectrum Scholarship Program by supporting these leaders! If you're a Scholar standing for office in the upcoming ALA election, and you do not see your information listed here please let us know at and you will be added.

ALA Council

  • Kathy Carroll (2007 Scholar), School Librarian, Westwood High School
  • Dr. Michael Gutiérrez (1999 Scholar), Head of Public Services at South Dakota State University
  • April Hathcock (2012 Scholar), Scholarly Communications Librarian, New York University Division of Libraries
  • Ana Elisa de Campos Salles (2011 Scholar), Senior Librarian, Palo Alto City Library

Learn more at

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  • AASL President-Elect: Kathy Carroll (2007 Scholar), School Librarian, Westwood High School

Learn more at

Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)

  • ALSC Caldecott 2021 Committee: Carmen Boston (2007 Scholar),Children’s Programs & Partnerships Coordinator, DC Public Library
  • ALSC Caldecott 2021 Committee: Sarah Okner(2007 Scholar), Youth Services Librarian, Vernon Area Public Library District

Learn more at

Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)

  • ACRL European Studies Section Member-at-Large: Liladhar Pendse (2007 Doctoral Fellow),Librarian for East European and Eurasian Studies and Librarian for the Caribbean and Latin American Studies, University of California-Berkeley
  • ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Section Vice-chair/Chair-elect: Petrina Jackson (2001 Scholar), Head, Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University
  • ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Section Member-at-Large: Curtis Small (2011 Scholar), Special Collections Librarian, University of Delaware Library Special Collections
  • ACRL University Libraries Section Secretary: Camille Thomas (2014 Scholar), Scholarly Communication Librarian, Texas Tech University Libraries

Learn more at

Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT)

  • Round Table Councilor: Leslie Campbell-Hime (2008 Scholar), Library Manager, Richland Public Library (WA)
  • Treasurer: Fatima Perkins (2006 Scholar), Adult Services Librarian, Cuyahoga County Public Library

Learn more at

Graphic Novels and Comics Round Table (GNCRT)

  • Secretary: Candice (Wing-yee) Mack (2005 Scholar), Managing Librarian, Systemwide Teen Services, Los Angeles Public Library

Learn more at 

Reference & User Services Association (RUSA)

  • RUSA Business Reference And Services Section (BRASS) Member-at-Large: Felipe Anaya (2010 Scholar), Research Services Librarian, Lemieux Library & McGoldrick Learning Commons, Seattle University