RBMS Security Committee


To serve as a resource for RBMS members and other librarians, archivists, dealers, and collectors concerned with the safekeeping of books, manuscripts, archives, and other special collections materials. Its duties are:
1. To provide information and education on theft and security topics for the section and profession. 
2. To develop and revise guidelines as appropriate.
3. To maintain a list of current thefts and security incidents, and their resolutions where applicable.
4. To serve as a liaison between RBMS and other professional groups with respect to security concerns, including:
o   Units within ALA (e.g., LLAMA);
o   Professional trade organizations (e.g., ABAA);
o   Other professional organizations (e.g., SAA).
5. To undertake other duties and functions regarding security of special collections materials as directed by the RBMS Executive Committee.
Comment: The charge was revised, submitted to, and approved by the RBMS Executive Committee on April 7, 2022.
Coordination: RBMS section chair; chairs of other appropriate committees; ACRL Headquarters.
Experience recommends: Knowledge of ACRL is useful, as is knowledge of collections management, user services, security best practices, and an understanding of how special collections workers and patrons may be impacted by security measures. 


Kelli B. Hansen (Co-Chair, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Ms. Kathleen Monahan (Co-Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Ms. Barbara Bieck (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Margaret Hagerty Gamm (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Mar Gonzalez Palacios (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Erika Hosselkus (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Beth T. Kilmarx (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Ms. Lindy Smith (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Dr. Julie K. Tanaka (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Ms. Clare A. Withers (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 04/22/2024. Last retrieved on 04/22/2024. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.


ALA Connect Community

RBMS Security Committee List
Official members of this section committee are automatically added to the committee’s Connect space and subscribed to the email list.

You can post to the list by sending an email to ALA-ACRL-RBMS-Security@ConnectedCommunity.org or by creating a new post directly in the Connect community.


The committee composition is determined by section leadership.


Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form. Committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer deadlines and requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
E-mail: lcarlton@ala.org