IS Nominating 2024 Committee


To ensure effective leadership of the Instruction Section by nominating for the elective offices of the Section the best possible candidates who reflect the diversity, professional environments, and geographical distribution of the Section membership. The committee solicits nomination suggestions from the membership through the "Nomination Form for IS Officers" on the Section web site, a document which it also updates and maintains. After preparing a slate of at least two nominees for each of the offices, the committee ensures that the candidates complete all of the requisite steps, including submitting an online ballot form (with biographical information and a statement of concern), and reviewing their ballot information on the ALA web site. The committee also maintains a list of past and potential nominees for use by future committees.


Nikhat J. Ghouse
(Chair, July 1, 2022, to July 31, 2024)
Clarence Dale Maybee
(Member, July 1, 2022, to July 31, 2024)
Dr. Amanda Nichols Hess
(Member, July 1, 2022, to July 31, 2024)
Nicole Pagowsky
(Member, July 1, 2023, to July 31, 2024)
Catherine Fraser Riehle
(Member, July 1, 2022, to July 31, 2024)
Lauren Carlton
(Staff Liaison, July 1, 2022, to July 31, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2024. Last retrieved on 07/17/2024. Refresh now.


The committee composition is determined by section leadership.

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton

Program Officer

Association of College & Research Libraries

American Library Association


Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form. Committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer deadlines and requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.