EBSS Communication Studies Committee


To provide a base of operations for the Mass Communication community of librarians who serve the communications/mass communications fields (including the areas of communications, media studies, advertising, speech communications, broadcasting, journalism and public relations). Goals for the Committee include identifying best practices and resources useful to those in the community as well as addressing current issues that are salient to the advancement of the field. Activities of the committee will include: evaluation and discussion of resources and services, development of activities and programs to improve skills among librarians, and the coordination of liaison activities with other professional organizations as appropriate. 


Michael J. Pasqualoni (Chair, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Ms. Ellen Hampton Filgo (Secretary, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Nicholae Cline (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Ms. Lia G. Friedman (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Ms. Ellen Hampton Filgo (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Kristin T. Peace (Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2023. Last retrieved on 04/19/2024. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.


ALA Connect Community

EBSS Communication Studies Committee List
Official members of this section committee are automatically added to the committee’s Connect space and subscribed to the email list.

You can post to the list by sending an email to ALA-ACRL-EBSS-CSC@ConnectedCommunity.org or by creating a new post directly in the Connect community.


The committee composition is determined by section leadership.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form. Committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer deadlines and requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
E-mail: lcarlton@ala.org