Rare Books and Manuscripts Section


Exercises leadership in the local, national, and international special collections communities to represent and promote concerns related to rare books, manuscripts, and other special collections.
The official RBMS committee rosters are listed below, and the RBMS website is available here.


Ms. Sarah Horowitz (Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Melissa Hubbard (Past-Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Anna Chen (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2024)
Maria Victoria Fernandez (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2025)
Lauren Carlton (Staff Liaison, June 30, 2023, to July 1, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2023. Last retrieved on 03/22/2023. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.



As of August 2022, RBMS had 1,538 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership.


The Rare Books and Manuscripts Section was established in 1958.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
E-mail: lcarlton@ala.org