Politics, Policy and International Relations Section


Serves as an educational forum and information exchange for librarians with an interest or subject expertise in politics, policy and international relations.

The official PPIRS committee rosters are listed below, and the PPIRS website is available here

Formerly called the ACRL Law & Political Sciences Section (LPSS), PPRIS became the official name of the section on September 1, 2016.


Mrs. Nadine R. Hoffman (Chair, July 1, 2025, to June 30, 2026)
Andrew Dudash (Past-Chair, July 1, 2025, to June 30, 2026)
Allison Symulevich (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2026)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2025. Last retrieved on 04/22/2024. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.



As of August 2023, PPIRS had 576 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership.


The Law and Political Science Section (LPSS) was established in 1960.  At the 2016 ALA Annual Conference, the ACRL Board approved changing the name to the Politics, Policy and International Relations Section (PPIRS).

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form. Committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer deadlines and requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
E-mail: lcarlton@ala.org