Instruction Section


Enhances the ability of academic and research librarians to advance learning, teaching, and research with respect to information literacy in higher education.
The official IS committee rosters are listed below.


Ms. Nicole Pagowsky (Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Carrie Forbes (Past-Chair, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Symphony Bruce (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Alexandria Chisholm (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Brittany Paloma Fiedler (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2023. Last retrieved on 12/09/2022. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.



As of August 2021, IS had 3,229 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership. 


The Instruction Section was established in 1977.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association