Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award

e.b.s.s. logo

This award honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made an outstanding contribution as an education and/or behavioral sciences librarian through accomplishments and service to the profession.

To read the award criteria and make a nomination, visit the ACRL/EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award  Web page.

The EBSS Awards Committee develops, plans, and implements the EBSS Distinguished Librarian Award.

Scott Collard named 2018 ACRL/EBSS Distinguished Librarian

photo of Scott CollardScott A. Collard, head of specialized research services at New York University, is the recipient of the 2018 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award.

A plaque will be presented to Collard during an EBSS event at the 2018 ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

“With his record of service to EBSS, his ability to bring diverse perspectives together for the good of the whole, and his substantial contributions to the profession, the committee is thrilled to name Scott Collard as the recipient of the EBSS Distinguished Librarian Award for 2018,” said award chair Stephanie Davis-Kahl, scholarly communications librarian at Illinois Wesleyan University. “As a past-chair of the section and a member of several committees within EBSS, Scott has demonstrated a high level of collegiality and leadership.”

Davis-Kahl continued, “As Nancy O'Brien stated in her nomination letter, ‘When working with Scott there is the assurance that he draws everyone into the conversation, listens to the various viewpoints, and will develop a plan or program based on consensus. His leadership abilities are exceptional, and he is thoughtful of individual perspectives while keeping the long-term goals in mind. As a leader in EBSS, Scott recognizes the shared values of the education and behavioral sciences community within the section, encourages innovation and collaboration, and offers opportunities to engage in group projects within the section as well as across sections, such as the 2014 program co-sponsored with ANSS.’ We congratulate Scott on this achievement, with gratitude for his dedication.”

Collard’s numerous service accomplishments in ACRL/EBSS include serving as chair of EBSS, and as a member and chair of numerous EBSS committees.

He received his M.S.L.I.S. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and his M.A. from the University of Chicago.

Previous Recipients

2017 - Deborah Schaeffer
2016 - No recipient
2015 - No recipient
2014 - Stephanie Davis-Kahl
2013 - Judith A. Walker
2012 - Dr. Scott Walter
2011 - Douglas Cook
2010 - Penny Beile
2009 - Dr. Gary Lare
2008 - Dr. John William Collins III
2007 - Dr. Patricia O'Brien Libutti
2006 - Elizabeth O. Hutchins
2005 - Kate Corby
2004 - Dr. Laurene E. Zaporozhetz
2003 - Ilene Rockman
2002 - Barbara Kemp
2001 - Charles Thurston
2000 - Leslie Bjorncrantz
1999 - Jo Ann Carr
1998 - Eva L. Kiewitt
1997 - Nancy P. O'Brien
1996 - Donald V. Osier
1995 - Hannelore B. Rader
1994 - Mary Ellen Collins