Educational & Behavioral Sciences Section


Serves the common interests of education and behavioral sciences librarians, including communications studies, psychology, and social work librarians. Members explore a host of issues in the areas of information literacy, effective use of technology in the classroom, collection development, scholarly communication, research, and other concerns pertaining to education and behavioral sciences librarianship.
The official EBSS committee rosters are listed below, and the EBSS website is available here.


Ashlynn Kogut (Chair, July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2025)
Katherine Safiah Donaldson (Secretary, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Yu-Hui Chen (Past-Chair, July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2025)
Dawn Victoria Behrend (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)
Peter E. Tagtmeyer (Ex-Officio Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2024. Last retrieved on 02/23/2024. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.



As of August 2023, EBSS had 910 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership. 


The Education and Behavioral Sciences Section was established in 1968.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form. Committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer deadlines and requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association