CLS Best Practices Committee


To promote the implementation and use of ACRL standards/guidelines and relevant best practice statements for college and medium-sized academic libraries; identify and track new concerns that arise regarding these documents; investigate mechanisms for evaluating these documents for continuous improvement; disseminate information about best practices through a variety of media; and serve as the group primarily responsible for determining the need for additional relevant documents and revisions to existing documents. 


Mrs. Alyssa Koclanes (Chair, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Regina Beach-Bertin (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Kelly Hovinga (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Diana Symons (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 09/27/2022. Last retrieved on 09/27/2022. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


ALA Connect Community

CLS Best Practices Committee List
Official members of this section committee are automatically added to the committee’s Connect space and subscribed to the email list.

You can post to the list by sending an email to or by creating a new post directly in the Connect community.


The committee composition is determined by section leadership.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association