CLS Leadership Committee


To encourage the leadership development of college librarians within the college community.   The Committee manages the College Library Section Innovation Award.  The Award serves to recognize college librarians and staff who demonstrate successful introduction of innovation in their library through a new idea, method, project, or device that enhances student learning and/or faculty development and overall works to promote the library as integral to the achievement of the college’s mission.


William M. Modrow (Chair, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023)
Kathleen T. Baril (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Elaine Hirsch (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
William M. Modrow (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
William M. Modrow (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 12/07/2022. Last retrieved on 12/07/2022. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.


ALA Connect Community

CLS Leadership Committee List
Official members of this section committee are automatically added to the committee’s Connect space and subscribed to the email list.

You can post to the list by sending an email to or by creating a new post directly in the Connect community.


The committee composition is determined by section leadership.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

For more information about the CLS ProQuest Innovation in College Librarianship Award, visit the award page here.

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Coordinator
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
225 N. Michigan Ave., Ste 1300
Chicago, IL 60601-7616
Work: 312-280-5285