CJCLS OER Committee


To enable CJCLS to help identify and support best practices related to OER textbook adoption, implementation, and creation; develop an online resource dedicated to Community Colleges involved with OER initiatives; provide a forum where participating libraries will be able to connect; work with and support already established groups involved with OER initiatives; provide CJCLS / ACRL / ALA with appropriate information and reporting as it relates the profession and the organization as whole; increase the awareness of the involvement of Community College Libraries with OER initiatives, lowering the cost of education, and student success within the library profession and education community.


Mr. Howard Craig Marks (Chair, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Dr. Jose A. Aguinaga (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Deb Baker (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Robin Brown (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)
Roe McKernan (Member, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2024)
Tim Ream (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2023)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2022. Last retrieved on 12/09/2023. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.


ALA Connect Community

CJCLS OER Committee List
Official members of this section committee are automatically added to the committee’s Connect space and subscribed to the email list.

You can post to the list by sending an email to ALA-ACRL-CJCLS-OER@ConnectedCommunity.org or by creating a new post directly in the Connect community.


The task force composition is determined by section leadership.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form. Committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer deadlines and requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
E-mail: lcarlton@ala.org