ACRL Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award Committee


Solicit nominations, market the availability of the award to the academic library community, facilitate the completion of the nomination process, select the award recipient, monitor nomination pools and nomination updates, and recommend changes to award web site information.


Dr. Beth McNeil
(Ex-Officio Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Ms. Allison Payne
(Ex-Officio Member, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)
Dr. Beth McNeil
(Board Liaison, July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024)

Displaying active committee roster as of 06/24/2024. Last retrieved on 06/24/2024. Refresh now.

  • Maximum number of appointed members for this committee is four, excluding the chair and vice-chair.
  • One member should represent library education.
  • One member should represent a research library.
  • Two additional members should be practicing academic librarians from two different types of libraries.
  • Ex-officio members include the chairs of CLS, CJCLS, and ULS, as well as the ACRL president and executive director.
  • Since it is important that the vice-chair/chair be knowledgeable about the responsibilities and concerns of the committee, it is suggested that the committee vice-chair/chair be selected from the existing committee membership.

The Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award Committee was created by the ACRL Board of Directors.

Staff Liaison

Lauren Carlton

Program Coordinator

Association of College & Research Libraries

American Library Association

225 N. Michigan Ave., Ste 1300

Chicago, IL 60601-7616

Work: 312-280-5285


Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form. Committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer deadlines and requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.