

Tribute Resolution Recognizing the 50th Anniversary of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table

Whereas the ALA Code of Ethics states "We uphold the principles of intellectual freedom and resist all efforts to censor library resources"; and

Whereas the Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) was founded by action of ALA Council in June 1973 at Annual Conference in Las Vegas; and

Whereas the Intellectual Freedom Roundtable (IFRT) celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2023; and

Whereas part of the mission of the IFRT is to promote "a greater opportunity for involvement among the members of the ALA in defense of intellectual freedom"; and

Whereas IFRT sponsors the Gerald Hodges Intellectual Freedom Chapter Relations Award which recognizes organizations for efforts to promote intellectual freedom, the John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award which is given annually to an individual or group with "notable contributions to intellectual freedom and demonstrations of personal courage in defense of freedom of expression", and the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award which honors written contributions to intellectual freedom scholarship; and

Whereas IFRT promotes, through its Merritt Fund Support Committee, the work of the LeRoy C. Merritt Humanitarian Fund which is devoted to the support, maintenance, medical care, and welfare of librarians who are denied employment rights due to discrimination or the defense of intellectual freedom; and

Whereas the IFRT supports and encourages library workers in all library types to continue the defense of intellectual freedom. Now therefore be it

Resolved, that the American Library Association (ALA), on behalf of its members:

Reaffirms its staunch, unwavering commitment to the principles of Intellectual Freedom, and congratulates and commends the Intellectual Freedom Round Table for its 50 years of excellence in defending the freedom to read.

Adopted by the Council of the American Library Association Monday, June 26, 2023, ALA Annual Conference, Chicago, IL

Tracie D. Hall, Executive Director, and Secretary of the ALA Council