A Memorial Resolution Honoring Candy Morgan

Whereas the American Library Association (ALA) lost a valued colleague on December 16, 2023, with the death of Candy Morgan;

Whereas Morgan was born on the Presidio Army Base in San Francisco in 1942; Morgan graduated valedictorian in Sweetwater High School in National City; Morgan graduated magna cum laude from University of California, Riverside with a degree in Political Science; Morgan obtained her Master's Degree in Library Science from Columbia University; she received an Executive Master of Public Administration degree from Lewis and Clark College in 1999;

Whereas Morgan worked as a serials and reference librarian at the Los Angeles County Public Library, West Covina; Morgan also worked at Michigan State University as the social science bibliographer; Morgan worked as a reference librarian at the Chicago Municipal Reference Library; Morgan became head of legislative reference & general information for Illinois State Library; Morgan became the administrator of public services at Oregon State Library; Morgan also worked at Fort Vancouver Regional Library as associate director in charge of community library services and retired from that position in 2004;

Whereas Morgan was a First Amendment champion, legal activist, educator, lecturer, library advocate, and author; Morgan served on the ALA's Intellectual Freedom Committee (IFC) in various roles such as chair, sub-chair or as a committee member for over 15 years; Morgan also served nearly 20 years on the Freedom to Read Foundation Board of Trustees; Morgan also served on the Oregon ACLU Board and as its President from 2005–2006 and 2011–2014;

Whereas Morgan served as a plaintiff and witness to major First Amendment cases; she testified before the U.S. Senate Committee of Commerce, Science and Transportation on S. 97, Children's Internet Protection Act; Morgan served as a witness for ALA in the legal challenge to the Children's Internet Protection Act (ALA v US; Civil Action No. 01- 1322, 01-1303) in March 25, 2001; Morgan was a named Plaintiff in American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon v. John Kroger, formerly Powell's Books, v. Myers;

Whereas Morgan was an LIS instructor and taught numerous courses in management, information ethics, and introduction to copyright and licensing for Emporia State University's School of Library and Information Management from 2003–2017; she also taught policy analysis and research in the Hatfield School of Government at Portland State University from 1996–2009; Morgan was an author and project director for numerous publications and projects such as the 7th edition (2006) and 8th edition (2010) of the Intellectual Freedom Manual; Morgan authored more than a half dozen articles on intellectual freedom;

Whereas Morgan was a recipient of numerous professional honors such as the Oregon Library Association Intellectual Freedom Champion of the Year in 1997, the Roll of Honor Award from the Freedom to Read Foundation, the William O. Douglas Award from the American Civil Liberties Union of Washington in 2004, the Oregon Library Association Honorary LifeCel Membership in 2004, the Washington Library Association's President's Award, ProQuest/SIRS Intellectual Freedom Award in 2005; and the American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon E.B. MacNaughton Civil Liberties Award in 2010;

Whereas Morgan was a kind friend, colleague, and mentor to many in the field; memorial contributions in Morgan's honor may be made to ACLU or Oregon, Fort Vancouver Regional Library Foundation or Freedom to Read Foundation;

Resolved, that the American Library Association (ALA), on behalf of its members:

- 1. recognizes the significant contributions and accomplishments of Candy Morgan over the course of her career and mourns her death; and
- 2. extends its sincerest condolences to her friends and family.

Mover: Raymond Pun, CALA Councilor

Seconder: Sam Helmick, ALA Executive Board Member

Endorsed:

Jim Neal, ALA Councilor
Ana Elisa de Campos Salles, ALA Executive Board Member
Jennifer Joe, Library Research Roundtable Councilor
Sara Dallas, ALA Executive Board Member
Deb Sica, PLA Division Councilor
Jessamyn West, Vermont Chapter Councilor
Kate Byroade, Connecticut Chapter Councilor
Elizabeth Nebeker, YALSA Councilor
Aubrey Iglesias, ALA Councilor-at-Large

Version: Jan. 9, 2024 8:00 am PT - submitted to ALA Resolutions Committee