## REPORT TO ALA COUNCIL OF THE ALA POLICY MANUAL REVISION WORKING GROUP

## ALA LLX 2024 JANUARY 20, 2024

TO: ALA Council

FR: Brian E. C. Schottlaender, Co-Chair

**ALA Policy Manual Revision Working Group** 

**RE:** Information Report

## **INFORMATION REPORT**

In July 2023, following the affirmative membership vote to approve the General Revision of the ALA Bylaws in the first half of 2023, the ALA Executive Board constituted the ALA Policy Manual Revision Working Group (APM/RWG)—with representation from the Bylaws Committee, the Committee on Organization, and the Policy Manual Review Committee—and charged us with revising the ALA Policy Manual to include recommended policy insertions from the adoption of the General Revision of the ALA Bylaws. We were asked to complete our work by LibLearnX 2025 and have been meeting monthly ever since.

In August 2023, the ALA Executive Board revised our charge via housekeeping, as follows:

Move that the Council approve the creation of a joint working group of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee, the Policy Monitoring Committee, and the Committee on Organization to carry out a <u>general</u> revision of the ALA Policy Manual, <u>including</u> recommended policy insertions from the adoption of the General Revision of the ALA Bylaws.

After reviewing the structure of Part A of the ALA Policy Manual, Appendix A to the General Revision of the ALA Bylaws, and a document prepared by Working Group member Aaron Dobbs ("Policy Manual (2021) to Bylaws (2023) Connections"), the Working Group moved all of the insertions recommended in Appendix A to the General Revision of the Bylaws into a working copy of Part A of the Policy Manual in order to create a single working document. Then, in order to begin harmonizing and updating the language in the working document, we solicited and received Working Group volunteers to lead the work on individual chapters as follows:

1 BECS 2 Robison	
2 Robison	
2 Robison	
3 Smith	
4 Pace	
5 Pace	
6 Pace	
7 Dobbs	
8 BECS	
9 Pace	
10 Robison	
11 Rzepczynski	
12 Carrillo	
13 Pace	
14 Negro	
15 BECS	
16 Harvey	
17 Dobbs	
18 Negro	
19 Negro	

We are now systematically making our way through the document, continuing to maintain our monthly meeting schedule. While we have not yet settled on a mechanism, we do plan to share the results of our work as they become available.

Respectfully submitted,

Brian E. C. Schottlaender, Co-chair

WG Members:
Elena Carrillo, Co-chair
Brian Schottlaender, Co-chair
Aaron Dobbs
Carl Harvey
Toni Negro
Andrew Pace
Mark Robison
Mary Rzepczynski
Daniella Smith

Steven Yates, Executive Board Liaison

WG Staff Support: Marsha Burgess Sheryl Reyes Holly Robison Adrian Stratton