January 17, 2023

ALA Nominating Committee Report

**ALA Membership Information Session** 

Aliqae Geraci, chair

Hello, my name is Aliqae Geraci, and I am the chair of the 9 member ALA Nominating Committee for the 2023-2024 Election cycle, comprised of myself, Erin Berman, Maggie Farrell, Nichelle Hayes, Kimberly Johnson, Jennifer Shimada, Valerie Tagoe, Joyce Valenza, and Kathy Zappitello. The Nominating Committee was tasked this cycle with soliciting and recruiting candidates for the roles of President and Councilor-At-Large of the American Library Association and ALA-APA. Thank you to ALA Council for welcoming me today.

There were significant changes to the process this elections cycle. Recent changes to the ALA Bylaws (ALA Bylaws, Article VI. Council Section 2.E.) have resulted in a smaller number of Councilor-At-Large seats to recruit for. ALA membership voted in favor of language stating, states, "Further, if the ALA membership votes in favor of rescinding the Constitution and adopting the new Bylaws, the ALA Executive Board will follow a three-year transition plan for adjusting the size and composition of both the Executive Board and the ALA Council as called for in the new Bylaws by a process of attrition." Instead of the Nominating Committee seeking 50 candidates for Council to place on the ballot as they have traditionally done in the past, we were to select at least 18 candidates for 12 spots. The natural process of attrition (for the desired number of 36 Councilors-At-Large) will be achieved in 2026, after seating 12 councilors in each year of 2024, 2025, and 2026.

The Nominating Committee recruited at ALA Annual 2023, with a designated table in the ALA Connect Lounge with informational literature on the President and Councilor roles, and Committee members circulating to speak with prospective candidates. The official call for nominations was shared after Annual through ALA outlets, including American Libraries, for a 3 month nomination period: July 1 through September 30. The Committee hosted an online informational Town Hall in August, featuring current and past Presidents and Councilors, with recording made available on demand. The Committee also reached out to past candidates to invite application, and solicited interest from new candidates, with the goal of a final slate of ALA members well-prepared to meet the current moment. After the nomination period closed, the Committee carefully reviewed applicants for selection to candidacy, with the perspective that our association should reflect the diversity of our membership, including diverse experiences, races, genders, ethnicities, and both new and experienced members, and a range of geographic location. Candidate nominations were announced Nov. 1, after which the three-month period for petition candidates was opened.

## The resulting slate includes two candidates for the single position of President-Elect:

- Sam Helmick, Community & Access Services Coordinator, Iowa City Public Library, IA, Public
- Raymond Pun, Academic and Research Librarian, Alder Graduate School of Education, California,
   Academic

## There are 26 candidates for the twelve at-large seats on ALA Council:

- Caroline Akervik, Library Media Coordinator, ECASD, Eau Claire, WI School
- Ana Elisa De Campos Salles, District Manager, San Francisco Public Library, San Francisco, CA Public
- Jim DelRosso, Assistant Director, Cornell University, Catherwood Library, Ithaca, NY Academic
- Michele Fenton, Librarian I/Cataloger, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN, State Library
- Cathi Fuhrman, High School Librarian, State College Area School District, Columbia, PA, School
- Travis Givens, Head of Access Services, Elmhurst University A.C. Buehler Library, Elmhurst, IL,
   Academic
- Lucia Gonzalez, Director, In Other Words, LLC Hialeah, FL
- Mario Gonzalez , Executive Director, Passaic Public Library, Passaic, NJ, Public \*
- Sonnet Ireland, Library Director, Slidell, LA, Public
- Susan Jennings , Dean of Library Services, Chattanooga State Community College, Chattanooga, TN, Academic \*
- Charles Kratz , Dean Emeritus, University of Scranton Harry & Jeanette Weinberg Memorial,
   Stroudsburg, PA, Academic \*
- Bradley Kuykendall, Floater Branch Manager, Dayton Metro Library, Dayton, OH, Public
- Anne Larrivee, Collection Strategist Librarian, West Chester University Libraries, Conshohocken,
   PA, Academic
- Andrea Legg, Director, North Canton Public Library, North Canton, OH, Public
- Dennis LeLoup, Retired School Librarian, School Library Advisor, Indianapolis, IN, School \*
- Katherine Lester, Adjunct Faculty School Libraries, Wayne State University, South Lyon, MI, School
- Mike Marlin, Director, California Braille and Talking Book Library, California State Library Sacramento, CA, Government/State Library
- Toni Negro , Librarian, Retired, Rockville, MD, School \*
- Stacey Nunn, Library Media Specialist, Cockeysville, MD, School
- Michelle Osborne, Branch Manager, Gaston County Public Library, Grover, NC, Public
- Christina Rodriques, Senior Program Manager, OCLC, Columbus, OH, Nonprofit \*
- Eric Suess , Library Director, Marshall Public Library, Pocatello, ID, Public \*
- Brian E. C. Schottlaender, Principalre:work library consulting, San Diego, CA, Consultant

- Natalie Starosta, Director, North Riverside Public Library District, North Riverside, IL, Public
- James Teliha, Dean of the Library & Learning Commons, Utica University, Utica, NY, Academic \*
- Kestrel Ward, Library Associate 1, University of Florida, Hawthorne, FL Academic

## \* denotes 8 petition candidates

The ALA Election opens March 11, 2024 (2nd Mon in March) and closes April 3, 2024 (1st Wed in April) and all ALA members who renew their membership by January 31 are eligible to vote.

This concludes the report. I am happy to answer any questions you may have, and appreciate the opportunity to serve the association through the nominations process.

Election Year	Councilor Term	<b>Elected</b> (# of Councilor at Large candidates to elect. Info for Nominating Committee)	Total Councilor at Large
2021	2021-2024	34	100
2022	2022-2025	34	100
2023	2023-2026	32	100
2024	2024-2027	12	78
2025	2025-2028	12	56
2026	2026-2029	12	36*

2027	2027-2030	12	36
2028	2028-2031	12	36
2029	2029-2032	12	36